It's Obvious, Isn't It?steemCreated with Sketch.

in #life6 years ago

"The best things in life are free. And it is important never to lose sight of that. So look around you. Wherever you see friendship, loyalty, laughter, and love...there is your treasure."
- Neale Donald Walsch -

Yesterday I visited a Steemit friend.

It seems very unlikely that I would have known this man had I not run into him on Steemit.

Who did I visit? It should be obvious from his photo when you see it...

He is, of course, @captainobviou3.

My friend @captainobviou3 has been an outstanding part of the Steemit community for just over a year now. I don't recall how I found him, but when I learned that he is a paraglider pilot, I began following his blog. As it turns out, we have many other things in common as well.

Table of Contents

My friend, Captain Obviou3 - Original image by @creatr

I was in San Diego anyway,

so I gave my friend @captainobviou3 a call to see if he might be open to a surprise visit. He said come on over, and I did.

The good captain is chief engineer of a high-rise building in the heart of San Diego. Although my visit achieved my main goal--i.e., a chance to meet @captainobviou3 in person--he gave me far more than I had anticipated. To my very pleasant surprise, @captainobviou3 gave me a tour of the facilities that he manages and maintains in his building.

I am the original geek,

or if not, certainly related to him, and so a tour of the "behind the scenes" engineering plant of a high rise was an absolute treat for me! We got on an elevator and rode it to the top floor. From there, we entered a stairwell.

As we climbed the final flight of stairs to the roof of the building, I asked @captainobviou3:

"How is it that you took this job?"

He told me that he had been offered the job, but had not accepted. As he spoke, we reached the top of the stairs and stepped out onto a walkway at the edge of the building's roof.

"Then during my interview," he said, "they took me to this room."

He opened the door in the photo below.

Table of Contents

He opened the door... - Original image by @creatr

Doesn't look like much inside, does it?

A plain, concrete floor. Utilitarian shelves, exposed electrical conduit. Plumbing running overhead, unpainted concrete walls...

Table of Contents

Doesn't look like much, does it? - Original image by @creatr

Would this office thrill you?

It's nothing to write home about, right?

Table of Contents

Another shot of the plain interior... - Original image by @creatr

Well, there's more to it than meets the eye in those photos.

It's all about the view. In this office, looking out the windows, you feel as though you are on top of the world. There is a spectacular view of San Diego harbor just outside.

I am terminally jealous. I want to work in that office. I am going to see if I can beg the Good Captain for an occasional day, or half day, in that office.

Table of Contents

The Coronado Bay Bridge in the background... - Original image by @creatr

Here is the corner desk where I want to sit.

It contains an unassuming little desk. Once again, not too impressive, right?

Table of Contents

The corner desk I would love to borrow... - Original image by @creatr

Not until you look out the window, that is...

I want to work at that desk, occasionally raising my head to glance out at Coronado Island and the bay.

Table of Contents

The corner desk I would love to borrow... - Original image by @creatr

The city of San Diego is visible from the other side of the office.

There's really not a bad seat in the house. Heck, I'd sit on the floor with my laptop and work, just to be up there.

Table of Contents

The city is visible from the other side of the room... - Original image by @creatr

So now you know, too.

You know why Captain Obviou3 took the position he now holds.

I'll tell you more of the story of my visit and wonderful tour later on.


~FIN~


P.S. If you have an "in" with anybody at Steemit, Inc. - Would you please ask them to get rid of these damn, extremely annoying "off-website" arrow/boxes? The have, overnight, made Steemit ugly. There are much better solutions.


For more fantastic stories, CLICK our Library Stories Shelf.


Table of Contents


Table of Contents


LOOK! Check out our amazing product:
SILVERengines
Introducing: The SILVERengines proton - Image by @creatr
CONTACT US - Will Exchange for Steem


Thanks for your time and attention.
You are why I'm here on Steemit!
I have very eclectic interests and hope, over time, to write about them all.


⬇️To Check Out @creatr's World⬇️CLICK Each Image Below⬇️

@creatr @creatr @creatr
Sort:  

@creatr You have earned a random upvote from @botreporter & @bycoleman because this post did not use any bidbots.

Well, thanks...

Somethings in life are indeed priceless. Like friendship and rooms with views and acts of kindness. Thanks for your story of kindness and perspectives ...er views from an insightful angle @creatr.

Thanks, Troy.

They a very nice feeling, meet in person friends that only knew by steemit, and share moments with them is unforgettable.
God willing me the opportunity to meet you. Very nice your article @creart

Why, thank you so much, @yose.

It would be my great privilege to meet you in person one day. I hope it happens. :D

Dominating the heights you can glimpse how small we are in relation to the domains of God. I loved the story, I hope the following. Best regards

Certainly steemit is a point of encounter and brotherhood. So knowing that office at the top of the sky is inspiring.

Thank you, Felix. ;)

It was great to have you over. Lets do it again soon. Be careful what you wish for, I may just put you to work based on your previous experience in engineering. LOL

I don't think you can afford me--unless it's for some skunkworks project that sounds like a ton of fun!

Seriously, if I can ever help you with an engineering problem, please let me know. :)

😄😇😄

@creatr

there's something about heights that seems part of our human DNA - And we are fascinated with vistas and the immensity of the Milky Way

Indeed there is...

However, it's somewhat unclear to me why some folk are afraid of heights?

Truth be told, I have some of that natural fear... the fear of falling, or perhaps more accurately, the fear of hitting the bottom...

NEVERTHELESS,

I desperately want that "God's eye view" and to be able to fly and move around and see the world from an elevated, mobile viewpoint...

And, John... speaking of the Milky Way, did you know it's now known to be about twice the size previously thought? Almost as large as the Andromeda galaxy.... :D

No, I didn't know that, my friend - You always have something beautiful to add to my life :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63022.98
ETH 2580.28
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.72