PTSD HELP!???

in #life7 years ago

Hello all,  I am posting today because I haven't written anything in a while.  I have been on a ptsd roller coaster but have been doing slightly better since starting this blog, which is AWESOME.  I'm still getting triggered and have a lot of anxiety with leaving my apartment but because of Steemit and my followers I've been able to get out of my apartment a little more.  I suppose steemit has turned into my support system and I can't be more grateful for that and each one of you.  I still don't get out every day but it is slowly improving and I am happy to say I'm getting into to therapy with someone that knows and was specifically trained for PTSD.  I can't tell you all how much of a difference that specialized training makes.  

As a PTSD survivor I've tried to find over and over and over and over and over an expert that I can afford.  I'm getting help from the state right now for 10 appointments so I'm grateful for that.  I dont know if my insurance will cover any other appointments after that though and that's a little stressful but I have to be thankful for the little bit that I am getting.  

For us PTSD survivors, finding a qualified PTSD doctor can be very difficult.  When you see someone that isn't well educated with PTSD they constantly try to diagnose you with all of this other stuff and it gets frustrating because it's all related to the PTSD and shouldn't be an additional diagnosis to mark your mental health history.  I have had a good doctor in the past but he's in another state as I have moved.  It has taken me roughly 3 years to find this one.  I had to get "testing" and all of that to see this new one but it turns out that  He understands PTSD better than anyone I've seen and that my friends is a breathe of fresh air.  He already has explained some of the things that I already knew and have been trying to explain to other doctors about, but they wouldn't listen.  The difference is that he knows and understands that these are parts of PTSD whereas others try to diagnose you  with other things and put you on a ton of meds that you don't need.  The misdiagnosis sometimes triggers the practioner to focus on that misdiagnosis and not  your PTSD and that is exactly the opposite of what we need.  My first appointment is next monday and I'm really excited.  

Sort:  

I actually just posted about PTSD. Feel free to see it! I don't know where you are located but I got my medical marijuana card and it has helped me so much with my PTSD. I stopped using antidepressents as well! I hope you find what works for you. ♥ Squeaker.

Wow, I will definitely read. I've been writing about my PTSD so far to try to help raise awareness. I met a great gal on here and we've spoken about getting together to start a group so that we can collaborate and write stories together. would you be interested in that?
I've read about and someone sent me a link about how marijuana helps the canniboid receptors... it's not legal in my state so I'm waiting. :) Glad to hear it helps you. That's fantastic

Sure, I would be interested! I would love to help others! I hope it legalizes for you soon!

ok cool. let's keep in touch. I read something about possibly being able to add groups to one of the blockchain apps related to steemit. I keep meaning to look into it but have been pretty foggy lately. We could start a group there and discuss our collaboration and support each other as well. yay

That would be pretty neat! :) Will give you a follow!

Thanks for sharing! and well done on facing your demons I know how hard it can get and that some days everything just weighs on you but keep pushing yourself and you will get through! Glad you are here and sharing your journey I recently lost a friend to depression I only wish I saw the signs earlier. I too suffer depression as a grieving mum and have found that writing and speaking about it helps a lot I have also tried some natural alternative remedies that have helped to boost my health as you know feeling down can take its toll on your body. Hemp helped me and many others worth a look into "Prime my body" products.

Thank you for reading. I'm glad you've got some help. Depression can be very difficult. I have read a few studies recently that talk about how writing about it does help. I can attest that it's true. It's not 100% better or even 50% better at this point but the little it does help has been just what I needed. :) Wishing you well

I hope this doctor will help you move forward. I am so happy to hear that your have been able to get out more.
Blessings

thanks lakshmi. I think the count is 6 times in the last 2 weeks so that definitely better. Of course 3 of those days were because I had a friend in town for the first time. :) I'm still very grateful for all of it

Baby steps :)

yes, It's sucks that I have regressed this much in the last 3 years but I'm finally starting to feel more hopeful :)

Best wishes for continued healing!

Hi creativeusername - I just feel upon your post. Did you ever find the treatment you were looking for? I'm new on Steemit and was just about to post up a FREE Natural Treatment PTSD case study I have just started and you were the first post to come up when I searched PTSD. If you were still looking for help/solutions, let me know.

Hello, and thank you for responding
I am still looking for the right help. I've tried therapy and the therapist wasn't a good fit. Other docs are trying to give me meds that don't help... because I've tried them before. I tried cbd oil and went through a bottle of 1mg in 2 days because the dose was too low and didn't help so now I'm meditating every day and that does help a bit. I'm open to finding something that works better along with meditation.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 68564.93
ETH 3839.30
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.67