Working Too Hard Kills the Person You Once Were

in #life8 years ago

I live in a small but thriving community of hard-working citizens. Nearly everyone is rushing about each day, getting the job done, trying to get by or get ahead.

What I notice is that many people are so work-driven that they lose focus on the things in life that really matter. I see them sacrificing time with their families in an attempt to run a business, make more money, or buy nicer things.

I have found myself going that same direction after I began a business of my own.

In just eleven months I have stopped fishing, canoeing, and camping, which used to be my three biggest passions. And now when I go to my favorite campsite, it feels depressing, like I am visiting a tomb representing a happier, more care-free time in my life. I have really become disconnected with who I am and what I love to do, all because of excessive work and the pursuit of money and success.

Running a business is not for everyone.

I used to desire being my own boss, making my own hours, and not having to answer to anyone else. Those privileges come with a heavy cost.

Think about the things you love to do - the hobbies and passions that allow you to unwind and enjoy life. Imagine them being taken away and working longer hours and worrying more about money. If that is the cost of having your own business, then maybe it isn't worth it.

I don't want to discourage anyone from starting their own business. But I want to share with you what it has done to me in less than a year. Think about the toll it could take on you and your family before you dive in.

I see two possible solutions to my problem.

Either I give up my business and go back to working a steady job with a paycheck each week and paid time off. Or I reduce personal debt and therefore do not have to work so many hours to get by. By no means is reducing debt easy, unless you win a lottery or inherit someone's fortune. But trimming it down one item at a time can result in major changes over the years.

In summary, think about these last ideas.

  • If you have a job you can tolerate on a daily basis that provides you with your needs, think twice before giving it up. Being self-employed is not as glamorous as it may seem.
  • If you insist on beginning your own business, face the reality that you are not guaranteed a paycheck. Either be debt-free from the beginning, or be able to live off your spouse's income alone.
  • Be prepared to do less of the things you love to do. Time will become a precious commodity. Do not make your children suffer. Always know when to quit working and come home to your family.
  • And before taking any big chances, pray, my friend. Pray often. God is the source of all wisdom, and He will share it with you at the appropriate time.

The illustration is my original work, hence my initials, AF

Sort:  

This is indeed a main issue, how to balance a busy work with the rest of your time, i guess the best thing to do is to tell yourself that this is not going to be like this forever.

Stay positive, and tell yourself that you'll get rewarded for your hard work and you will be tougher after that.

Also we are not stuck in a box, what about making some money and then changing your job later after a while.

Stay healthy mate

Thank you. I know this post seems so down and depressing, but I do try my best to stay positive. Through all the hardships I have managed to keep the bills paid and still be a husband and father. It's not terrible being self-employed. It is a struggle. But everything will end up as the Lord wants it, so I should have no fear or worry.

Been there done that. I totaly aggree with you. Now i'm free , before i was not . Try to climb out of that shit pile . Be safe

I have climbed out of worse shit piles before. I can make it through this. Thank you @iggy.

I missed this yesterday, I have been out with a cold. Great article. Steady paychecks have their benefits, if it gets you back in the canoe then so-be-it. I find the less I "need" or "want" the freer I feel :) Good luck with your new endeavors.

Thank you. I am just returning after being away from Steemit for a week. Our computer took a hard crash and wiped out all our documents, photos, ... everything. Luckily I had my password stored in a safe location so I could log back on. I finally have a computer I can use again, so I'm back. Glad to hear you are feeling better.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60596.21
ETH 2611.46
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.64