IM OFFICIALLY A COLLEGE GRADUATE!! Sooo, What’s next? Steemit as leverage for my future career in PH??

in #life6 years ago

Momma, I made it!!! I am now officially a college graduate, as I graduated on Sunday, May 6th from The Ohio State University with a Bachelor of Science in Public Health. I am very excited about this amazing achievement of mine, so I thought why not share it with my fellow steemians!?

IMG_9250 (1).JPG

A lot of hard work, time and effort was put into this, and now it has finally paid off! All that $$$ for a nice, clean sheet of paper with my name and degree on it. College is a place to learn, grow, make lifelong relationships and network with other students, faculty members and mentors. All of this for a piece of paper?? Well, not quite... at least I hope so.

The overarching goal of college is to put what you’ve learned into action. Innovate, create, share and implement new ideas where ideas may currently be lacking. Those who graduate from a prestigious University, such as Ohio State, look to make a difference and impact the world with which we live and the people who inhabit this planet we call Earth.

Our commencement speaker, Dr. Sue Desmond-Hellmann, CEO of the Bill & Melinda Gates Foundation, highlighted the importance of shifting the focus from – me (I) to us (we). As a public health major, this really resonated with me because focusing solely on an individual level will do nothing in terms of our population’s health moving forward in today's rapidly changing society.

We must lead, connect, educate, and inform those who may not have the best access to health care services around the globe. Vulnerable populations are everywhere across the world, but it is our duty as compassionate citizens to help make a change where change may be needed. This is exactly what I plan to do with my degree.

Sure, making a difference in the world can be done without going to college, plenty of people have proven this to be true. But, for me, education is very important and honestly quite necessary for me to get to where I want to go with these goals of ‘change’ in mind.

IMG_9249.JPG

This is why I will be furthering my education at Wright State University in the fall where I will begin my Master’s in Public Health (MPH). This will ultimately allow for me to have more freedom with what I decide to do with my career. Deciding on a career path isn’t easy, as it is something that we will be doing for, likely, the rest of our lives.

I have been putting a lot of thought into this as of late and I know exactly what it is that I want to do with my life. I plan to use steemit, this wonderful platform, as a way to further my career as a Public Health Journalist. Steemit in tandem with this sort of career will allow for me to bring about health and wealth, which are two very critical components of this game we call life.

career.jpg
Image Source

As a Public Health Journalist, I intend to visit underprivileged regions of the world and publish works pertaining to water projects, health infrastructure improvements, patient access and care, health system innovations and more. Literally, whatever it may be that a specific region is lacking in terms of health, I plan to implement ideas I have learned from other affluent areas and incorporate them there into their health system.

By doing so, I hope to help as many people as possible and make a difference with sustainable efforts. Sustainable efforts are key in today’s day in age for a better tomorrow. The generations coming after us are going to be entering a world far different from today with finite resources beginning to dwindle down. This is a very scary thought to fathom, but with today's generation and future generations yet to come, alternative methods for such resources will need to be created.

For example, we are seeing Exxon Mobile on the forefront of a new fuel alternative by turning algae into usable fuel. Now while there may be some downsides to this, it is this type of critical and analytical thinking that this world needs in order to further humanity. Algal blooms in Lake Erie are having a tremendous impact on the public's health, so this could, not only be huge in terms of alternative fuel efforts, but also to mitigate the effects from the algal blooms in much of the Northern Ohio region.

Education is key for innovations such as the one I just mentioned. Without an education, many of the advancements we are seeing today would not be possible. Although this may not hold true for every aspect of the technological advancements and breakthroughs of today, I am sure we can all agree that education remains a very important component of such.

education_button2.jpg
Image Source

I am happy to say that I will be furthering my education and also utilizing steemit as a way to leverage my work in the real world – killing two birds with one stone as they say. I am looking forward to what the future has in store and I cannot wait to keep putting out content that is useful and that also spreads knowledge to and from the entirety of the human race... those here on steemit are just at an advantage from the others.

So, we keep steeming my friends !!! Onwards and Upwards :-)

Sort:  

What is next is what you envision. You are creating your future with your thoughts.

yessir thank you for YOUR thoughts, appreciate ya stopping by

Onwards & upwards we go

Congrats bro...

thanks man, I appreciate it more than u know

Congrats, this is so exciting! :D

I am happy you see Steemit as part of your future plans alongside with education. And I like how you are willing to share your knowledge in order to help people.

Happy steeming! :)

thank you so much :))

I am too, looking forward to it for sure. I hope to impact as many lives as possible! thanks for your continual support Nina, I appreciate ya!!

Happy steeming :)

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvote this reply.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 61129.24
ETH 2376.01
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.54