[New year #3] Planning and planting new seeds

in #life7 years ago (edited)

Let's continue with the "Life is like a garden" metaphor.

Now that we have prepared the soil by pulling out the weeds and identifying the healthy saplings we want to keep nurturing, we can now finalize our "New Year Garden Project" by planting new seeds.

This part is about: What do you want to do / have / be / feel this year?
It's the longest part. (I'll sprinkle it with some photos from my New Year's getaway.)

IMG_4271.JPG

The new Me

Complete this sentence: I am the kind of person who....

[Note all the positive things you would like to embody, here. It may help to ask yourself "What would I like others to say about me?". E.g. "She is a kind of person you can always rely on, who is productive and follows through on her goals, who lights up a room when she enters," etc.]

This is how I want to feel

Literally make a list of desired feelings. [Think of your life, your work, your health, your friends and family - how do you want to feel in all areas of your life? You can go back to Step 1 where you noted how you do NOT want to feel anymore, and start by simply choosing the opposite.]

This may be the most important part of this whole exercise.

Our feelings create our reality. Each emotion has a certain frequency, and in our entangled, resonating universe "like attracts like", which means we will always attract something that matches our vibration. So let's vibrate consciously and high :)

Here are some of my words, as an example: confident, competent, loved, vibrant, connected, welcomed - don't limit yourself!

Major focus for this year

Remember the roles you don't want to play anymore from Step 1? This is about the roles you do want to keep playing and become stronger/better at (e.g. leader, entrepreneur, mother, husband, creator, steemit whale, author, teacher, connector, etc.)

Which roles will you focus on in 2018?

Top ten goals

What are 10 specific things that you want to be/have/do by the end of 2018? This is where you make a list of 10 bullet points.

Project yourself to one year from now and look back. Write your goals down as if you had already achieved them. Also write them down in a way so you can measure them in a year's time.

For example, instead of "lose weight, travel more, earn more on Steemit", write:

  • "I weigh x amount of pounds now."
  • "I visited a new country every month."
  • "I made x amount of SBD per month."

Remember you are looking back from December 31, 2018, so write it like it already happened and avoid unspecific words like more, less, better, etc.

IMG_4367.JPG

How will you make each of your goals happen?

Now go through your list of 10 goals again. Since it is so specific now, it should be easy to break each goal down in to small action steps.

I have a Steemit income goal, for example, and I realized, in order to make it happen, I will have to start posting daily. In order to post daily, I have to change my daily routine a bit. I might have to get clear ahead of time what I want to write about, and I might have to start doing videos, because it looks like dtube clips generate more income.

I have some clear action steps and gave myself a personal 30-day challenge to post daily. At the end of January I will review and measure the results against my goal, but most importantly against my values. If I feel imprisoned by my self-imposed challenge instead of free - I will of course stop.

What action steps will you take on your goals?

If you will NOT have achieved each of your goals by the end of the year - why will that be?

I love this question because it makes our unconsious habits conscious.

If I won't have made daily posts on Steemit, it will be because I was disorganised, because I wasted time on Facebook (whaaa?) or because I slept in, instead of using the first hour in the morning to write, for example.

What would it be for you?

IMG_4373.JPG

If you really did this exercise, you now have some proper guidelines for your year.

You could hang this list up somewhere (or translate it into a drawing or vision board) so you can see it every day.

You could also review it and see if you can spot sort of an essence in there - something that could be expressed in just one word. This word alone could be your compass for this year.

I will write more on that tomorrow.


All photos incl. the gif taken in Warnemünde, Germany.
!steemitworldmap 54.1700964 lat 12.0402742 long Warnemünde, Germany D3SCR

Sort:  

Wonderful and informative post thanks for sharing

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=connecteconomy
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=new-year-3-planning-and-planting-new-seeds


Want to have your post on the map too?
Add the following inside your post:
!steemitworldmap xxx lat yyy long description d3scr

(replace xxx and yyy with latitude and longitude)

I truly can't get too many reminders of this
Our goals have to always be in front of us otherwise we slide back into what's comfortable.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 59007.49
ETH 2658.92
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44