Why I Use an Inversion Table.

in #life8 years ago

As documented in a previous post I suffered from sciatica at one time. Anyone that has experienced this debilitating pain knows how bad it hurts and impacts your life. People that stand or sit in one spot for long periods are prime candidates.

I wanted to post about the purchase that helped me the most, my inversion table. As you can imagine gravity is constantly pushing down on your spine. Inversion tables reverse this gravity thus expanding the spine. This process increases blood flow reducing inflammation and pressure. This pressure on the nerves is what causes sciatica and intense pain.

During the peak of symptoms I was stuck in bed for two days and immobile. Such a wake up call to not be able to walk, especially when others are depending on you for their own survival and well being. I would love to say that I took up yoga, changed my diet, and take great care of myself.

Unfortunately that is not the case and I do none of those things that would greatly improve my health and reduce my chances of having back problems. So far I have been able to keep my horrible lifestyle and still stave off further back problems, knock on wood. The credit goes to the inversion table in my opinion, three times a week for at least five to ten minutes I get in this contraption to relive spine pressure and flush that system.

My table was less than $200 and is fully adjustable. You can adjust the height according to your own for maximum comfort. The weight limit on mine is 300 pounds but they go higher for nicer versions.

The degree at which you go inverted is also adjustable, I have found that the full 85 degrees is a bit much and leave it at 30 degrees. Storage can be an issue depending on where you live, for me it was a problem due to small children. They could not resist playing on it as everything is a toy to them. I was fortunate enough to have some unused office space to store it in, this has also given me the chance to let coworkers use it as needed.

One gentlemen that happens to be one of our longest term employees uses it on a very frequent basis and makes sure to thank me every time we cross paths. If you are suffering back pain and stiffness I would suggest finding your nearest health store and giving it a try. It has done wonders for me and I am sure it will for you to.

Thanks!

SteemVerify

Sort:  

It's very beautiful pictures :)
Thang you for sharing dear @codydeeds !!

Thank you for the comment, very appreciated.

I have a friend who has this machine, he swears by it! His back was in big trouble but ever since he started using it he's been fine :)

Do you know the name of the machine? is it an inversion table or something different?

It's definitely an inversion table, it looks almost identical, if not identical to this :) I've been on it before and am considering getting one myself.

If you spend a lot of time stationary I would highly recommend it.

I just stumbled on your mom's post and read her introduction too. You and I share a bond as I also lost my sister far too young. You may have seen the posts I have of my brother and his music, he and I developed a special and strong bond as two siblings grieving. I'm sorry for your loss and know exactly how it feels, though it is true that time is a healer there will always be a missing.

It depends on the time of year. Winter in NY, unless the days are decent and I'm out in the vineyards helping my husband, I definitely spend way too much time stationary. The rest of the year (which of course is only about six to seven months here in upstate ha!) I do a lot of hiking and swimming etc.

Awesome @codydeeds!
We have one at the house but I barely use it
(@ballinconscious uses it way more than I do ), anyways I always feel taller afterwords.
Thank you for sharing!

Are you guys a steemit couple? Wondering how many of those exist. Make sure he sees my post!

I tried it once just for a brief moment and had a huge blood rush into my head.
Does it take getting used to?

@kus-knee (The Old Dog)

I would suggest getting some medical advice if the table made you dizzy or uncomfortable. Might be a good idea to start with the lowest incline setting and work your way up. Yes the blood will rush to your head a bit but nothing very intense.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62978.31
ETH 2546.24
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.76