My Personal Experiences Using a Stand Up Desk at Work.

in #life8 years ago

I switched to a stand up desk two years ago due to some medical issues that developed from sitting down 8 hours a day for a few years.

After a couple years of standing up I developed a completely different issue, sciatica.

Sciatica is intense, for those of you who have not experienced it. I had to take some time off work and eventually got an inversion table that did wonders. I still use the inversion table on a regular basis to prevent the issue from reoccurring again. Yoga was also an option and as you can see from the photo I have a mat ready to go, just have yet to go down that road at work. I am probably afraid coworkers would judge me for doing yoga in my office. Conquering my fear of negative opinions of others is a task of mine in this lifetime, so I might give it a try.

I currently switch between sitting and standing but am now under the impression that individuals are just not meant to be in the same spot for 8 hours a day. Seems unnatural to our evolution and we are simply not designed for it. I love my job and occasionally it aligns with my passion for new technologies which is fun. I just wish there was a way for me to be more mobile through the day outside of occasional bathroom breaks and stretches.

Reaching out to the community here for some input and assume some of you are in similar situations to my own. Perhaps someone has some insights or experience on how they have dealt with this themselves that I may not have thought of.

Let me know in the comments, thanks!

SteemVerify

Sort:  

Hello @codydeeds,

Your post has been chosen by the communities of SteemTrail as one of our top picks today.

What do you love to write about? Join us on SteemTrail today and find others who share your interest!

The SteemTrail Community looks forward to more great stuff from you. So, please keep up the great work!

Keep on Steemin!

This is awesome, thanks!

This post has been ranked within the top 25 most undervalued posts in the first half of Dec 15. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $9.84 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Dec 15 - Part I. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

I've been using a stand-up desk for the last 3 months and feel a lot better. I take frequent breaks to go outside or do something--jumping jacks, play keyboard, bounce around, and to give my eyes a break from looking at the screen. I also wear glasses that protect my eyes from all that screen radiation. The glasses were only around $12 from Amazon.com but they have more expensive, yellow-tinted, orange-tinted glasses for about $78 that are supposed to work better. Since they have a good money-back guarantee, I'll probably try those.

What?! I had no idea there were special glasses for staring at screens. Any idea how that would work if you already wore glasses?

I imagine you could get your prescription lenses tinted to prevent further eyestrain from staring at computer screens for hours on end.
http://lifehacker.com/5980509/do-computer-glasses-really-work

I recall something may have been mentioned about that when purchasing my glasses, I think they did it automatically.

hahaha! I wish, did you notice the pillow? I nap on lunch breaks sometimes when the baby keeps us up all night.

On the first sight No.. having said that now see a pillow !!

Rare that I need it, but handy when I do.

Great post! Sciatica is the worst, so glad that got resolved.

Same here, thanks for the comment!

I definitely have some muscle imbalances from working at a desk/computer. Any suggestions for an affordable stand up?

I have seen people use milk crates to add a few feet to their current desk. I was lucky enough to get mine through work but have seen some decently priced ones on newegg.

Secret is t give up work,it would make us all healthier... anyway, try this: https://steemit.com/health/@kyusho/get-up-now and all the best.

Will check it out, thanks!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 56400.87
ETH 2980.27
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.19