You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Anxiety is trying to kill me

in #life8 years ago

You mention the original reasons for the feeling; the fight or flight mechanism. A fine tuned mechanism that evolved to near perfection over millions of years.
Whenever there's a gap between what the machine (body) was "designed" for and the environment it is presently in (2016!). I believe there's a lot of potential is just putting that machine back in its environment.
So picture a fish out of water. That's us today! Put that bitch back in its aquarium son!

I know there's a LOT a stuff coming out that starts to blend the Paleolithic lifestyle while still benefiting from the modern era.
I won't go into too much detail but things like:
-using candles after sunset instead of electricity
-using f.lux on your devices
-getting at least 20 minutes of sunshine every day
-walking more
-touching people (appropriately!) for the oxytocin
-socializing
-eating stuff that doesn't mess with hormone balance
-some physical activity that makes you deal with stressful situations (my BJJ biais is no doubt apparent here but this actually USES the fight or flight mechanism in a scenario where it's as close to it's design as possible. The endorphins I feel after jiujitsu alone are incredibly relaxing)

I'm curious if you've explored this. Put that fish back in water (:

Sort:  

I think you nailed it, and that is also why mental illnesses are on the rise. I can definitely tell a difference in my anxiety levels when I socialize and go outside a few days in a row. I spend way too much time in front of a computer, no wonders my brain goes haywire when I get my sorry ass out into the real world. Too much stimuli.

Thanks for your post

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 62068.40
ETH 2417.32
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.56