You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Why I Say No To Negative People!

in #life7 years ago

I have been struggling for years with negative thoughts. I used to defend them by saying I was just being realistic. I still think to a degree using caution and using sense can be performed without being negative.

I will say this though, It is amazing how negative thoughts bring on more negativity. It is true. It happens.

But when you're life turns negative it's rough to be able to make it positive again. So you get stuck in a rut..

I would be very interested in hearing your thoughts on how to get OUT of the rut once you are in it.

Sort:  

I still think to a degree using caution and using sense can be performed without being negative.

You are right about this.

But when you're life turns negative it's rough to be able to make it positive again. So you get stuck in a rut.. I would be very interested in hearing your thoughts on how to get OUT of the rut once you are in it.

I used to test people who went into depression. I used to test people caught in their old lives, and never saw hopes. It was merely because of my interest in hypnotism and hypnotherapy. To this day, I find the subject fascinating, which is why this topic is close to my heart.

But seeing problems from a distance made no sense. And given time was always on my side, I decided to even hit rock bottom. Everything I believed in was questioned. Everything I stood for was questioned. And I became the opposite of who I was.

It had taught me many valuable lessons than this comment could handle. I wish to share everything in the future.

In short:

It's easy to get stuck in the rut. It is easy to contemplate. It is easy to go back to the past. Question is, what's not easy? Ask. And pursue that.

This is where purpose plays a vital role. If you have to seek something, you might as well seek pleasure, isn't it?

Recognizing it's a problem is the first step! It's also important to realize a lot of people get stuck in negative banter because they just don't know what else to talk about. I have 2 friends who love to talk shit. I made an effort to try and steer our conversations in positive directions. One of them it was easy....the other, eventually I felt like he was just becoming a downer for me. I'll still respond to him if he wants to find me but I don't make the same effort with him anymore.

Another method is framing. You can change a whole situation simply by how you frame it. I was sick for 2 years. It's easy to treat that as 2 years wasted but I always thought of how much I learned during that time, how I faced my fear of death and developed a whole new way of seeing life and in focusing on that I've had so many positive experiences that I wouldn't have had with a victim mentality.

You can also focus on how connected we are. How we become happier when we make others happier. This makes it easier to avoid seeing others as enemies and it's damn true too.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 67896.07
ETH 3253.63
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66