You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Honoring My Body's Limits

in #life6 years ago

Yes! I see this daily as a CrossFit coach; athletes pushing past their body's signals to back off in pursuit of an arbitrary standard or goal. In fact, I've been guilty of this myself. I'm just learning how to take care of myself; but, right now, it involves to less wods, more walking, more yoga, diligent mobility exercises and daily meditation.

Sort:  

Mobility is everything for me. I was recently able to make many unexpected gains by spending an extra 20 minutes before and after each workout barbell mashing my thighs. I had no idea I was using my legs incorrectly, but I was, and that was contributing to nightly knee and shoulder pain. Once the muscles loosened, I was able to line up everything where is was supposed to be. I've been diligent with my arm because of scar tissue. I am at 95% wrist mobility in my injured arm which is FAR better than I expected. I have to keep plugging away at doing what feels like being lazy (even though mobility hurts) so I can challenge myself safely in the other ways I enjoy.

I know, it does feel so lazy, but it's so smart. Keep up the good, but painful, work of mobility and reap rewards in longevity.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 60782.22
ETH 2915.02
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.64