A Perspective of Time - Why your Time and What you do with it is Important!

in #life7 years ago (edited)

Dear Steemit Friends,

A lot of people believe money is the most important resource we have in this world. We work so hard to always earn more and are trained to believe that having more means we have achieved something. This however is not true. The most important resource is time. ... You can't buy more or borrow more. Time is a limited resource that expires every day and we are all given a limited amount of time in this life.

The average lifespan of a human being is roughly 80 years. Some people live longer lives and some people live shorter lives. Just by simply saying it, 80 years seems like a lot of time. Below is a simple exercise to put things in perspective and hopefully helps you to realize that the time you have is short and shouldn't be wasted.

Let's start by breaking the average lifespan down into periods... Below is the Average Life Expectancy of a Human Being. Different factors such as your location, your diet, your medical history, etc. can change your actual lifespan.

Each line above represents 10 years of your life, starting with your birth and ending with your death, which can be more or less as mentioned previously.

Typically in Society, the breakdown of your life looks like the diagrams below.

Roughly around your late teenage years you begin to work:

We continue to work until we are near retirement age, which is on average around the age of 65 years old.

What the diagram above shows and what you will realize is that you will be working for MOST of your life.

What does this mean?

Since you spend most of your life working, It is very important that you spend that time doing something that you love. The two to three periods in your life when you are not working are few and far between and don't give you much time to enjoy everything that life has to offer, so it's best to spend the time you do have doing something you enjoy.

Given that most of your life will be spent working, anything you earn and save should be spent so you can enjoy your life. If not, why do we do it? You can't take it with you. I understand some people do it for the sake and security of their families, but is it really worth it to slave all day everyday doing something you don't enjoy for something that you spend most of your life at?

Being a kid is great and enjoying your retirement is great, but what about the years in between. Your time was not meant to be spent waiting for Friday to come along so you can get just a small piece of enjoyment. Once those years are gone, they are gone. You can never get them back or redo them. If you are reading this and your working at a job because you get a paycheck, but hate what you do or are just waiting for the weekend, it is time! Time to make a change in your life!

You get one chance to make the most of your life. Why not make it a happy and enjoyable one. One with no regrets and a lifetime of memories and experiences. Hopefully this motivates you to evaluate your life and the direction you are heading. If you find yourself dreading where it's going, I hope you will consider making a change for something better and more enjoyable. Unfortunately we don't live forever and there is just too much that this world has to offer.

Take control of your life and spend your time wisely - Time is precious. Make the time you have left special, meaningful, and purposeful. Don't waste it!

As always Thanks for reading. If you enjoyed this post - please Follow, Upvote, Comment, and Resteem and let me know what you think in the comments below


How to vote?
  • Use the witness page https://steemit.com/~witnesses
  • scroll down the page until you see the vote box below and enter cloh76.witness
  • click VOTE and accept my Appreciation and Gratitude!


Image Sources: [1] [2]
Sort:  

We all know that our time is limited, yet most people don't make the attempt to take advantage of it. There's always people saying how we need to have a work life balance. But is there really such a thing now in days? This is why I love helping people leverage their time so that they can enjoy life more!

Motivation.png

So True. I hear work-life-balance all the time, but no one really ever follows it. It is just something people say. I am guilty of that myself. I try to make it a point now to take back some of my time for myself and to enjoy my days. I realized that I havent spent as much time doing something that I love and that gives me purpose and have started to change that aspect of my life. As a result, I feel more fulfilled, satisfied, and happy!

That's the best way to do it. We should all work on something that gives us a sense of purpose and especially something that we're passionate about!

Motivation.png

Time is everything, so spent it wisely.

yep. too bad people (including myself) dont realize that early in life

OMG WHAT AM I DOING SITTING HERE?! Yor writing was very compelling because it proves that many people are wasting their lives. As Oscar Wilde putted it, the are many people who exist but fewer who live.

Good Work. I would like to know what u think of my writing! It would be my privilege!

time is money :) dont waste it :) use it wisely ! great post :)

Thanks. Yep. Im in the process of re-evaluating my life as well :)

@cloh76 wont you upvote ? :/

True, time is money

Time , yeah,Just imagine, How we missed opportunities by not buying BTC with small amounts of money." ... we could play that game with pretty much any investment that went huge, like investing in apple stock when it first went public. Bitcoin is especially painful though.Moral of it: Invest in BTC. right now. don't delay! A month ago (or was it less than that?) it was at 2700 and I was about to start my BTC IRA. https://cex.io/r/0/up104639387/0/
Buy bitcoin and Eth instantly and easily, worldwide,since2013. It allows for the buying of bitcoin, Ethereum,Bitcoin Cash and Dash for low fees via credit card with USD, EUR, GBP OR RUB. Customers can also purchase for free with bank transfers. Cross-Platform trading https://cex.io/r/0/up104639387/0/

No regrets! I figure live in the present. Crypto is still in it's infancy and there is still a lot of money to be made. If you love and believe in it you have a better chance of success. BTC still has a lot of growth potential so still a good time to invest. Same for ETH and other currencies.

I always wear a watch, I dunno it's because I feel that I need to look at TIME because I know the scarcity of it. I wish I had more time in a day, time to do things that are worthwhile and productive. It is indeed more precious to me than money.

I enjoyed reading! Upvoted! :)

Thanks @shellany. Im glad you enjoyed the post. I wear a watch too, but I no longer look at it to see what time it is. Just arm decoration :)

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by cloh76 from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, and someguy123. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you like what we're doing please upvote this comment so we can continue to build the community account that's supporting all members.

Yes our time is a high value commodity and we dont really seam to be aware of it. In my case I learned my lessen 3 years ago when my best friend, same age, died on my birthday for no reason. Put life into so much perspective. I do choose now to ask myself every-morning, I am living my life or others people life?

yep. We never know when we will go so it's best to take advantage of each and every day. I plan to start trying something new everyday and continue doing the things I find myself enjoying.

Risk management + Time Management = Success.

Anyone agree?

Take calculated risks :)

However sometimes the reward is in the risk

very nice to read! being self aware and understanding and acting on this is key!

Agree. If you don't act once you realize you aren't happy it just ends up being a waste of time, so as soon as you realize you aren't happy and that your life is missing something, immediately act and make a change

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 60907.24
ETH 3249.66
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45