Typically Dutch! Clouds, water and ships and some rain of course!

in #life6 years ago

I want to share with you some pictures I made yesterday. I think you can only take those in Holland.

IMG_9284.jpg

Yesterday, my husband and I had to go to a little town in the middle of the Netherlands. When we came back it was 5.30 pm and rush hour. There were all traffic jams on the highways.

After 15 minutes we had the chance to leave the highway and we were able to drive all the way inland towards Rotterdam.

We passed the small but very old city of Schoonhoven. You can take the ferry there and it is always very busy on the banks of the river Lek. It is a big river with a lot of traffic. Because the clouds were low, the view was overwhelming. I could not resist making a few photos. I want to share those photos with you.

Here you see the ferry arriving at the quay.

IMG_9270.jpg

Actually, there are two ferries. They sail back and forth during rush hours because it is extra busy.

IMG_9271.jpg

We decided to eat something in a small restaurant on the river. There was no one outside. It was cold and windy and it rained from time to time. It must be fantastic to sit on that terrace in the summer!

IMG_9276.jpg

During our meal some very big ships passed on the river.

IMG_9284.jpg

It was a mighty sight those large ships splitting through the water of the river.

IMG_9279.jpg

IMG_9288.jpg

This container ship was so big that I needed two photos (above and below) to get it.
The wheelhouse is so high to be able to look over the containers.
I always wonder how they get the car ashore every time!

IMG_9291.jpg

Finally, I do not want to let you miss these two pictures. The clouds were so low that it seems they hit the houses on the other side.

IMG_9277.jpg

IMG_9292.jpg

I wish you all a nice sunny day.
Clio

Sort:  

Ma, with all this, it's just a complete wonderful day for you. I was completely carried away while reading and viewing all those wonderful pictures.
Nice shot over there, all the pictures are awesome.

Excellent photos, my friend and this is an amazing sight, when clouds float across the sky so low and create the feeling that the sky is so close. Your nature has blossomed already in full force and although it's cool, it's nice to see the greens everywhere and watch the passing ships on the river. I wish you a warm and sunny weather too, my friend! Thank you Clio

You're right, there are greens everywhere! And the good news is that from tomorrow the weather will be sunny and a bit warmer. I look forward to better weather!

@clio Lovely Pictures of your Country. Just think in a couple of months you can go back to that Restaurant and have a Nice Meal out on the Terrace. Life is Good......

That is a great idea! It will be very nice to sit on the terrace in the summer

A crane on the dock lifts the car with straps. :)

But instead, let's pretend they drive it on and off with ramps, that would be more interesting.

That last answer seems to me the most spectacular. But the crane and the flying car are also quite spectacular. Let's hope the straps are in good condition!

Those are some pretty menacing looking clouds. I love them.

Great photos and story @clio. You captured the weather and mood very well.

Thank you, I don't like the rain, but I love those clouds.

The rain we got last month looks like you are now getting it.

According to the weather forecast, the sun will shine from tomorrow!
I hope so, we have had a lot of rain in the last two weeks.

We had so much rain last month. We have thunder storms expected on Thursday. I hope they are wrong cause if they are right it will cancel YART for me. As photography and rain doesn't mix.

What a lovely restaurant! It must be beautiful to sit outside in the summer and watch the ships pass. Those clouds are hanging really low and look heavy with rain. I am still waiting for our rainy season to start...

We have had enough rain for both countries in the recent week:)
We have not heard much news from Nicaragua lately. Is it better than it was and are you alright?

I will be posting more. It has been a really odd time here. I went to Managua to visit my son and granddaughter and to offer them a ride back to the homestead. They are willing to wait it out for a bit longer...

It must be scary times for you. Especially for a mother with a son and a granddaughter in Managua. I have never had to live in fear like you now, but I am also a mother, because of that I sympathize with you very much and I pray for you and your family.

Thank you, Clio. I appreciate it. Prayers are definitely needed for a peaceful resolution.

Those are some real dramatic clouds right from the outset!

I think you also have your share of clouds in Scotland! And rain.
I have a niece living in Lochgilphead on the Scottish west coast. When we visited here some years ago she said to expect either rain or when the sun was shining there would be small, stinging insects. We had the insects!

Oh the midgies!!! They are awful. Like mini mosquitos only there are millions of them that hang about in swarms!

I have been there (Lochgilphead) its very nice. I am a west coast man lol!

We call them mietsen, it's rather the same word as midgies. To name them mini mosquitos is quite right. They were very annoying and the other day my legs looked like I had the measles.

Once I had over three hundred bites ! (my girlfriend counted the little red spots) I was ill for three days, it was awful! They are the curse over here!

Look at those typical dutch skies there!!

Weather is beautiful now I find..super calm.
Lets keep it like this for a bit :)

You are lucky to have such fine weather here in the Netherlands. It is colder today than before, but the sun is shining, so we are happy!

After having 28°C on the first of May in my hometown I feel like wanting some clouds, rain and a bit of cold.
I assume though that you are waiting for the summer to enjoy an afternoon at that terrace outside that restaurant.

Yes, we are waiting! I am happy to tell you that at the end of the week the temperature will be around 20 degrees C.

That's the perfect temperature for me. I would love to live in a country with 20°C constantly...
Waiting to see the next post with the photos from the end of the week and some sun on the Dutch sky.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 60209.45
ETH 3212.30
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43