You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Niagara Falls Trip & Facts with a friend who had never been. Memories on the Blockchain..... with Elvis and Facts on the Skylon Tower overlooking the Falls. | E.2

in #life7 years ago

Wow, I had no idea it was so built up around the falls, I always imagined it was in the wilderness. Beautiful pictures buddy!

Sort:  

I've been going there since the 1970's --- Yes, built up is an understatement LOL.

I was so sad years ago when the Happy Wanderer motel shut down, it was in a prime part of town, on a little island of property that jutted out in the middle of the road, walking distance from the Falls and the Entertainment District.

It was family owned, german style homemade food, only 4 or 5 small hotel rooms on the top level, it made me very sad, I sent everyone I knew to that place and stayed there every time!!!

I ordered chocolate milk with my meal one time as usual, they remembered me. The daughter had taken over by then.

A few mins later she returned a little sweaty, it took a few mins....

They had run out and she went all the way to the store to get me some, can you believe that???????

I have told everyone this story, how amazing is that???????????

Now THAT'S customer service! Too many of those places are fading away. Damn shame, if you ask me.

I know, I feel the same.

I think the family made out YUGE on the real estate end of it based on my experience in the business but man, I miss them, I was broken inside when I went back after years and saw them GONE.

Sad for Barry.

  • Hit me right in the feelz.

I hope they did! They deserved to after all those years.

I'll bet it did. When the sentimental ties are that strong it leaves a noticeable gap that can't be repaired. At least you helped other folks experience the place while it was here.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 58478.70
ETH 3158.37
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43