Tips & Tricks: Essential Oil Cure Alls

in #life7 years ago

Hello Steemit!

Those who know me well, know I’m not a big fan of taking pills or over the counter meds. I avoid the doctor like the plague and prefer to either find DIY options or simply suffer through. I personally do not believe in a 100% holistic lifestyle as in many instances, my aforementioned dislikes are a must. I have however found there are many natural ways to cure minor illnesses and discomforts. Enter my new found love for essential oils.

I started reading up on essential oils after I found many of my natural nighttime beauty products contained lavender. Although I’m still a bit of a newbie on the essential oil bandwagon, I've found the following to be must-haves. Not only do they truly work in the ways I’ve described below, but they smell delicious and are wonderful for adding to candles and DIY cleaners. Some are even great to use as a natural perfume e.g. Rose, Lavender etc. There are many different brands and price points, so get googling and find the ones that work best for you. Please comment with other yummy essential oil recs!

1.) Rose: I adore rose oil. I use it as perfume, in candles and cleaners and most importantly on my skin. Rose oil has been used for centuries in skincare and is perfect for dry or aging skin. I use it often in the winter months. Did I mention it smells amazing?

2.) Lavender: Lavender oil is best known for it’s calming and relaxing qualities. I use lavender oil when I’m having trouble sleeping (great on long flights!) and for when I’m experiencing shoulder/back tension (which is sadly often). You’ll also find this oil in tons of natural beauty products as it’s also known to help with skin irritations.

3.) Peppermint: I literally just discovered peppermint oil and I’m in love. It can cure a headache in minutes. Just put a small dab on each of your temples, massage in, close your eyes and breathe deep. Voila! This oil is also particularly amazing for muscle pain. I swear it works just like icy hot. If you’re congested it can help clear breathing and promotes respiratory functions. Try adding it to DYI toothpaste or other DYI products for a minty, fresh scent.

4.) Ginger: The oil, like its raw counterpart, can help cure nausea and stomach upsets. It aids in overall digestion so it’s a great oil to have on hand...especially if you’re like me and love to splurge on all things delicious.

5.) Oregano: I heard about the benefits of oregano oil from a fellow yogi. She said she uses it when flying on her nose and around her ears (just a dab), to help prevent colds. Oregano oil is chock full of antioxidants and is antibacterial so it’s excellent for travelers and to have around for “sick season”. I always have it in my travel bag. I’ve also read it works well as a cleansing agent so I plan to start using it in some of my DIY cleansers as well.

See below for a few examples from my current stash...

download.jpeg

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 61604.80
ETH 3444.70
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50