Dr Rumana jahan.Head of the dept of Pharmacology

in #life6 years ago

The students who come to study at Dhaka Medical college are the toppers in the admission test. Many of them have been the first or second boys in their school or college. But after coming here, for reasons unknown they lose the will to do even better. As a teacher I find this particular problem in many. It's like because of getting into DMC I need not do anything to push myself further. For this reason, they lack the drive to achieve more. Besides scoring a good result, it's also very important to keep it up.
In our medical community, we all lack co operation and sympathy towards one another. Here due to many reasons, the immense pressure of studies being one of them, many lag behind than their other classmates. But how many of us are concerned about them or try lending them a helping hand? It's natural that all the students in the class won't be on the same level. So those who are the ones forward,

image

should try to help those who have fallen behind. We should let go of our selfishness as these are the ones who'll be our future colleagues and will be at our side when we need them the most.
I always tell my students that your competition is with yourself, not with others. No matter how much you try, there will always be someone better than you in this world. So stop competing with others and start contesting with yourself. Only then can you progress. And by competing with others, you'll always go round and round in circles.
When I come to the lecture gallery to take a class, I can see my image in all the students. The memory flashes of a 20 years younger me sitting in that same class. That's why I feel a special sense of responsibility towards DMCans. I believe that like passing an exam is the students credit, similarly failing of a student in an exam is the teacher's discredit. But in our system, we don't acknowledge this fact and blame only the students for their incompetence. We have to let go of this mentality. The sense of responsibility should co exist between both teacher and student and that's how we can bring out the best from them

Sort:  

You Got 50!! vote from @bdbot
Thanks for Using bdbot voting service. Our 100 vote service coming soon so please stay with us.
U5dqxweFWaXRKEkhApbRgAdANUbGdYq_1680x8400.jpg

We recommended this post here and here.

We are Discover Steem, if you like our work consider giving us an upvote. :) If you don't wish to receive recommendations under your posts and to be recommended, reply with STOP.

Read my profile if you want me to resteem your blog post to my 33,200+ followers. https://steemit.com/@a-0-0

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.11
JST 0.030
BTC 69805.09
ETH 3740.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.59