Shower Thoughts | Passion - Undiscovered Truth or Pot of Gold Under the Rainbow

in #life6 years ago

Introduction


This is a topic I've struggled with for a long time. I've always been very envious of friends of mine who are so passionate about something. Passion is difficult to define, but how I define it is, if you have nothing to do, no plans for the day and have no distractions, where would your mind naturally divert itself to?

For some of my close friends, it's wall-climbing, or drone flying, or personal-finance, or even how to start a successful air-condition company. I'm very envious, and even jealous, of them because I don't know what my passion is. I don't have something that keeps me up at night or wakes me up early in the morning other than to go through the day like a normal functioning human being.


Source

There has actually been so many quotes on this that it's actually quite sickening, to be honest. But what I aim to do with this post, is to explore what passion really means.

Two General School of Thought


From my observations and conversations, there are generally two schools of thought when it comes to passion.

The first would be the ones that create quotes and fill their instagrams with #passion. That life is meaningless without passion. That unless you've found your passion, you're a wandering lost soul.

The second would be the ones that think passion is nice, but not essential to living. Some in fact are against passion. Saying

Passion is Overrated


Source You can put that on a fancy image too

Generally, I fall within the 2nd category. I think that Passion is a WANT not a NEED. If the world were full of people who followed their passion today, we'd have tons of gamers, food critics and binge drinkers and not enough accountants, engineers or administrators - people who do the miserable but necessary jobs that keep society from falling apart (those are examples, I'm an engineer myself and I don't think its a miserable job).

Source of Passion


According to Freud, the human psyche is split into the Id, Ego and SuperEgo with the Id being the part of our brain that contains basic our most basic human drive and instincts, while the Ego contains our reasoning and common sense. Finally, the Superego reflects the internalization of cultural rules.


Source

So, passion actually comes from the Id. The most childish, irrational and emotional aspect of your psyche. But that's not to say it's no good, it is still very important to satisfy your Id, but passion-driven people tend to forget about the needs of their Ego and SuperEgo as well.

If passion feeds the Id, responsibility feeds the SuperEgo. This is my opinion.

What is the Point of this Post?

Honestly, I don't know. I came into this topic thinking it would be a factual, impartial description and personal opinion of Passion. But it's something I struggle with so much, it doesn't make sense to me and yet I want it as well.

As I said before, my definition of passion is something you do/think when there is nothing else. So for me, this downward spiral is what I do/think about when there is nothing else which is why I always find distractions. Before this, it was the excitement of joining a new company. Before that, it was the up-and-down rollercoaster ride of infatuation. Before that, it was the excitement of interviewing for a new job!

But I want to take a different approach this time. I'm going to put myself in that 2nd school of thought. That I do not need a passion, it's nice to have but not necessary. Instead of worrying about how or where to find a new passion, I will focus on my needs and responsibilities.

If I can't make my Id happy, I'll at least make my Ego and SuperEgo happy.

To keep it to the theme of imagery, this is the next strategy I will try.


Source

Please do let me know what you think. This is a never-ending conversation across generations but it has become and will become more and more prevalent as with each generation we become more privileged and not have to worry of like, disease and death and stuff.

follow_chuazm.gif

Sort:  

Very interesting point of view, I've never really actually give a thought to this. But maybe as someone who does most things out of passion I could share a little of what it's like to wake up in the morning and have these kind of feelings drive you :))

I think for me, passion has given me a sense of purpose, a sense of longing to want to grow, to want to be better, to want to strive for more. I guess some will define this as playing a dangerous game, leading to never being satisfied or never being content. Personally, I think being passionate keeps you excited about getting up in the day. You open your eyes and you think, "What wonders will I get to do today?" Passion does just that, it pushes you to do the best, to enjoy what you do.

Being passionate makes you keep looking at the positive, to see the good in what others can't. Being passionate isn't always a good balance though, sometimes I surround myself with my work for the longest time (hours to days to weeks) because I fall into "the zone" and forget to do necessary things like, eat or sleep. xD I don't believe it's fair to say that passionate people end up being gamers, food critics or of the sorts. Passion and hobbies are completely different things. I truly believe people like architects, engineers, administrators can be people of passion too. The want to make society better, that is in fact a passion. Wanting to educate people, wanting to take care of family, wanting to make the world a better place. Everyone has a different passion.

Being passionate is love, literal love for everything I guess xD To be happy, and sometimes it's about the little things like, the cup of coffee you'd love to have every single morning, or enjoying the sky when the sun rises over the horizon, reading that book that looks like it's got a really weird cover and finding you actually enjoy it. I don't believe being passionate means you begin to be ignorant of worldly or society issues, if anything it means you in fact actually care more, you'd give up anything and everything to achieve. I honestly cannot speak for most, but these are some things that come to mind xD

Tbh, glancing through your blog posts I would definitely define you as very passionate too!!

Thank you for bringing up this topic, and I hope my comment gave a little insight as well :D Cheers <3

Hmmmm, fair point. Perhaps I didn't explain it properly. I didn't mean to say that one school of thought is better than the other or is more logical. In short, what I wanted to say was I've tried looking for my passion and trying to fit into the first school of thought, which you do, and it has failed for me. So this time, I'm going to try ignoring my passion (which I think is a WANT) and just focusing on my NEEDs.

I'm by no means an unhappy person. I'm quite a happy-go-lucky person, but I just feel very lost in what I should be doing to - as you said "pushes me to do the best, to enjoy what I do". I find a lot of joy in making other people happy, but when it comes to my own happiness, I really have no idea how to boost that.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.23
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 67033.58
ETH 3521.90
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.20