Life Story: From being a Jollibee Crew to becoming a Professional Teacher

in #life7 years ago (edited)

My life was clearly not easy few years ago. My parents could not send me to college. I cried a thousand times for that matter because I was jealous of my classmates who were already in the last phase of their enrolment in college and because I had an ambition of becoming a professional someday. But tears didn't solve my problem, I needed to do something to reach my dreams.

First, I worked in a public market in hopes of saving enough money for enrolment. I worked hard to earn the money but for eight long months, I only saved about 9,000 pesos. That amount was surely not enough to sustain my expenses for a year in college. I stopped and looked for other jobs.

Then, I was hired as a houseboy in Moalboal, Cebu. In exchange, my benefactor would pay for my tuition and provide my daily allowance. I was very happy because finally I would experience being a college student and my dreams of becoming a professional was starting to happen. But the mother of my benefactor didn't like me, she did everything to make my life miserable. Until I reached a decision of giving up my work, and my studies. I only finished my first year.

Then, I worked as a contractual employee in the company in hopes of saving money to send myself back to college. But that didn't happen again because I needed to give a portion of my salary to my parents. My working contract ended, and I still had no chance to re-enroll.

Then, I asked my mother to help me financially with my requirements because I wanted to apply as a crew in Jollibee. I promised her that my first salary would be given to her as payment. I was lucky to be accepted as a contractual worker of Jollibee - that was May 2008. I happily worked as a dining crew. My first pay day came, it supposed to be a happy day but it turned out to be a very difficult day. I remembered my promise to my mother to give my first salary to her as payment (she loaned money from other people) but I also wanted to use the money for my re-enrolment in college. The latter decision over ruled.

FB_IMG_1517146758488.jpg

I was very afraid to go home that day. I didn't know how to explain what I did. I wanted to pay the loan of my mother for my Jollibee application and I also wanted to help them by giving them a part of my salary every pay day. But that was very impossible because I already used the money for my re-enrolment and the next salary would be used for my studies.

My elder sister was very upset of me. She thought that she would again be the one to pay for the loan and she could not expect a help from me to support our family. My father was jobless and my mother only get a penny from being a housemaid.

I rearranged my payment options with my mother. I still promised to be the one to pay the loan used for my Jollibee application.

It was June 2008 when I went back to college. I knew I was on a very difficult situation again because I would study in the morning and work in the evening. My class would start at 7:00 up to 4:00 in the afternoon, then I would travel from the school to Jollibee to work. Usually, my working schedule would start at 5:00 PM up to 11:00 in the evening. I would be home around 1:00 to 2:00 AM in the morning and would rise again at 5:00 to prepare for school. I only slept for 3 hours and during snack time in school and break time at work.

I worked hard in Jollibee as a service crew. My first station assignment was in the dining assigned for assissting the customers with their orders, bussing the table, and cleaning the dining area. I wanted to perform better every day to impress our managers because I planned to apply as a working scholar of Jollibee after the termination of my contract.

FB_IMG_1517146644783.jpg

After 5 months as a contractual, I was accepted as a working scholar in Jollibee. Meaning, I would be working as a crew until I would finish college. I was transferred to the counter station until I became a marketing assistant and a party host.

I was very happy for the opportunity given to me, so I worked with excellence, perseverance, dedication and love. I received many awards and recognition in Jollibee for this.

FB_IMG_1517146777931.jpg

After three jolly years of working and studying, I received my degree in Bachelor of Secondary Education major in Industrial Technology. I graduated Cum Laude and ranked 6th from the 300 plus graduates in Education.

FB_IMG_1517146708855.jpg

Jollibee is not only my number one fast-food chain but also my ultimate BEE-stfriend. It helped me reach my dreams in life, not to mention all the life lessons I learned when I was still a Jollibee crew.

FB_IMG_1517146746037.jpg

I am Christian Yocte, a licensed professional teacher and a very proud Jollibee service crew.

THANK YOU FOR READING!

received_2030244520326915.gif
received_2034306273254073.gif

Sort:  

MMK na to hahaha grabeha gud diay sauna. Proud of you!

Thank you @allyyssa. By the way, im very happy that you are finally here. See you around :)

Hello mga kababayan! Mga bisaya pud d.i mo. Daghana na nato dnha uie. Let's keep this community burning.

Good job bro.. Mabuhay ka! :)

Ikaw din po. Bee happy po.

You are an inspiration.
Very touching story.
Steem On!

Take some imaginary @teardrops (Smart Media Tokens)

Hi, thanks for dropping by. I really wished I have inspired you one or another, because that is mainly the reason of this blog.

Wow thank you for sharing, steemit on. Please follow me back and vote to my blogs

Please follow me and upvote my blogs

I have a friend whose story is the same as yours, kudos to all hardworking students like you.

Yes, we are actually very many. Bee happy :)

Such an inspiration

I know it's very hard because I've been there. Kudos to your life story. Keep dreaming!

Thank you po. Ill keep dreaming and steeming.

Good to hear :)

very inspiring sir. congratulations and welcome to steemit!

"I'm a newbie and I make poetry and stuff in English and Tagalog. I would really appreciate it if you give me a time and visit and read my crafts. Thanks :)"

I am really happy that you are inspired after reading this because that is really my reason for sharing this. Bee happy.!

Such an inspiration. Hope with this platform you keep on inspiring other people. Like to hear more from you. If you have spare time please check my travel blog. Thank you!
https://steemit.com/travel/@engrdrdarwin/welcome-myself-to-baguio

Thank you so much sir!

Christian was one of my crewmates at Jollibee. Truly a hardworking person, very inspiring. Keep it up!

kinsa ka? hahah

Edwin btw, hehe.

Upvoted on behalf of @thehumanbot and it's allies for writing this great original content. Do not use bid bots for at least 1-2 days, as your post may get picked up by top curators.
Great Original Works are rewarded by top Curators, refer posts from my Step-Brother @humanbot for more details.If you like this initiative, you can follow me in SteemAuto and upvote the posts, that I upvote.
And remember to do some charity when you are rich by contributing to me. Check out my Introduction Post for more details. If you have any concerns or feedback with my way of operation, raise it with @sanmi , my operator who is freaking in Steemit chat or discord most of the time.

Thank you very much.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.027
BTC 59476.67
ETH 2299.07
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48