Welcome Myself to Baguio

in #travel6 years ago

Hello everyone! DarwinTheExplorer here!

I would like to welcome every Steemians here to my very first official travel blog. And for the debut of my travel story, let me take you to Baguio City, the Summer Capital of the Philippines. So sit back, relax and hope everyone will enjoy.

To travel is to live. This, I think best describe my experience as a traveller. WOLO or we only live once. We must enjoy our life to the fullest. And to be able to explore different places is one way to fully live this beautiful life.

Let's start!

Last February 2017, a friend of mine invited for a Manila trip. She said we will go on a side trip to Baguio after Manila. When I heard about the Baguio adventure, I was excited obviously because Baguio is in everyone's bucketlist especially for Filipino traveller. I just paid a one way trip from Cebu to Manila. I spent P2000 for the one way trip. Yeah it was expensive since I booked the flight a week before our trip.

When we arrived at NAIA Terminal 2, we were picked up by a friend who's in Manila. In fact, we did not have any problem with the transportation there. We toured around Cavite and Batangas using his car. Thanks to him, we have our own car service. After a day of roaming around the metro, it is our time to visit Baguio City.

Disclaimer: I can't give details on the bus fare from Manila to Baguio.

Baguio City is about 250 km from Manila. You can take a bus ride or better to have your own vehicle. Luckily for us, we have one. From Manila, we passed NLEX and SCTEX both are expressways going to the north. As far as I know, there are two main roads going to Baguio, Marcos Highway and Kennon Road. The former has a wider roads but takes a longer time than the latter. Obviously, we chose Kennon Road. And after more than 3 hours, we passed the first landmark of the city, the Lion's Head. Situated along Kennon Road, this symbol stands 40 ft (12 m) and has been the city's icon for more than 40 years now.
received_120300002174342965.jpeg

If you're in Baguio, this should be in your must-visit list, Burnham Park. This nature park was designed by Daniel Burnham who is also the namesake of the park. It is a huge park with a lot of attractions to visit. One of the attractions is the Burnham Lagoon where you can rent a pedal boat for P150/hour and can carry up to 3 people, even 4 depends on the size of the boat. It was fun! I have never seen such a wonderful lagoon in my life. I think my first.
received_120300002178181429.jpeg

16585464_1268422523249032_9102818476724060160_n.jpg

Baguio City is one amazing place where culture meets nature. It is evident in their green sceneries such as Baguio Botanical Garden, Camp John Hay, The Mansion, Mines View Park, etc. If you wish to explore these places, you can take a public jeepney or a taxi. But I would suggest to hire a van for a whole day tour.

Baguio Botanical Garden
received_120300002251816204.jpeg

Camp John Hay
17126184_572880142882260_2631666542617559040_n.jpg

When we went there last year, the temperature was at below 10°C (so cold 🤒). I guess it is a requirement for every houses to have heaters in their shower room. In fact, SM Baguio, a popular shopping center in the metro does not have any air conditioners installed.

Pine trees can be seen all over the place. In fact, it is home to different species of plants and trees. Definitely, Baguio City has a lot of wonderful attractions to offer. This place is worth a return.

Oops! The strawberry?! I will continue this story in my next blog.

That's it for now. This is DarwinTheExplorer temporarily signing off.

Sort:  

Wow! What a wonderful trip.

Ka char sa comment uie.

Pang steemit na nga comment sir

Haven't been to Baguio in years. It still looks as nice and cold as always. Hehe
Good thing you had a friend in Manila, at least you didn't have a hard time commuting and what not :)

good job mate!!!

Resteem if you think deserve. Thank you!

Hope you enjoyed Baguio! Been there a couple of times (both for leisure and work) but there’s still so many restos to try and places to visit. What I love most are the fresh produce (broccolli and strawberries ar eon top of my list) and coffee! Oh, and Good Shepherd’s goodies!

We weren't able to buy Good Shepherd's goodies sa Good Shepher mismo. Doon na lang kami sa mga bangketa bumili. Galing din naman yung Good Shepherd.

Okay na tun. Mahaba pila sa Good Shepherd’s but i guess mas mura siguro. Okay din coffee dun. If you’re into coffee. May civet coffee sila. 😋

Hi @thedailymom! I posted another travel blog. This time in Ilocos! Hope you could check that one out. Appreciate all your comments. Thank you!
https://steemit.com/travel/@engrdrdarwin/going-loco-in-ilocos-darwintheexplorer-s-first-adventure-part-1

I don't usually resteem content but I guess this one deserves it so I did. 😊😊

Hi there friend @engrdrdarwin! Nice blog you have there! I followed you. keep on steeming! share photos of your friends too :D

Thanks! I'll check if I have some photos with them.
By the way, if you haven't drop by my introduceyourself, here's the link.
https://steemit.com/introduceyourself/@engrdrdarwin/i-welcome-myself

Such a nice place to visit especially for Summer vacae! Will be expecting your next blog sir. :)

First and last visit ko sa Baguio was 2005. Too young that time. Sobrang tagal na. And I'm looking forward to visit Baguio again with my own family (my partner haven't been to Baguio yet).

I decided to be your follower. Not just because of Steemit. Who knows, baka makarelate Yung pagiging enhinyero mo sa construction company Ng mama ko in the nearest future.:)

Upvoted and followed you kabayan!!

Thank you smafey! We can build a stronger community here. If you love my post and want to share it to your friends, please do so. I would be very grateful to you.

nicely written !!!
and again ...selfies are great :D

Thank you @komal. I posted the 2nd part of my Baguio trip. Hope you can check that one out.

Would love to go there..😊

Yes! Baguio is a nice place. Hope to hear of your stories soon. Followed you.

Hi maddie! I have posted my latest travel blog. Hope you could check that one out. Thank you!
https://steemit.com/travel/@engrdrdarwin/going-loco-in-ilocos-darwintheexplorer-s-first-adventure-part-1

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64320.07
ETH 3154.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.34