Say YES and figure out how later - The Key To Forward Momentum

in #life6 years ago

parachute_skydiving_parachuting_jumping_38447

I want to share with you today a vital component to being successful.

Let's start with a quick story to make this all make sense.

So, in 2012 I enrolled into a Music Industry Arts diploma 2 yr program to learn about the music industry and recording/producing. On the first day of our Artist Management class, we all sat down in our seats and in walks the professor. Now you're sitting there expecting to hear about artist management type lecture, but this guy went a totally different direction. His first 4 words to the class were "Multiple Sources Of Income". It turns out that instead of getting a typical college professor, we ended up with a life guru who spoke some of the best and most profound life lessons to us that I've ever heard before from anyone...including multimillionaires.

The one thing that stuck with me the most apart from "Multiple Sources Of Income" was when he was talking about applying for a job a couple hours out of town, and the company HR Dept. Wants you to be there the same day in an hour. You have two options. First option, you say "Sorry, I cannot be there that fast, can we reschedule?" The second option that my guru teacher suggests is the better of the two is to come right out and say "I'll be there" and then even though it's impossible to make it on time, figure out a way to get your ass there.

In a more broad sense, that decision of pulling the trigger is probably the most important life lesson anyone could ever receive.

Often times, opportunity comes knocking and we have ourselves all tied up in life doing a million different things, so we pick option A and put off whatever that thing is, that opportunity that is asking us to stretch into a fearful place of uncertainty.

We need to teach ourselves to stop right at that moment and "Say Yes...then figure out how" that should be the default response. Jumping in first and then figuring out how to swim. Now don't confuse this trait with blindly doing stupid things that are dangerous or that go against moral stricture. We are talking about pulling the trigger on opportunity or doing something that moves you forward or takes care of something. It could even be doing the dishes as a very basic example.

This very act of saying Yes First takes care of nearly all the psychiatric issues and reservations we as humans struggle with whether you are fearful, a procrastinator, conservative etc.

The reason this thought came up in myind today and I had to share it with you all is because I just recently had this kind of thing happen, remembered what my teacher said and then said YES!

As you all know by now, I have launched my artistry career as a Singer-Songwriter. I also run a recording studio part time, and was engaged with a promoter locally for sponsoring gigs to gain exposure for the studio.

My contact had called me to ask if I wanted to sponsor a monthly acoustic showcase gig for 1 show a month for all of 2018. I later saw a Facebook post from him asking if there were any other acoustic acts interested in a slot that had reopened on May 4th for the show.

Without hesitation, I remembered that life lesson and said "I'll take it".

Now, keep in mind, I have never released any music. Heck even to this day I still need to figure out how I'm going to fill a 30 minute spot that night!

But you know what, I had to take that leap of faith and just pull the trigger. Who knows what could happen as a result of that show? All I know is that on May 4th, I will be playing my first live show as part of that series and I will have figured out a set list, practiced and prepared to go on stage.

So the next time you are in a situation where you have to decide whether or not to take hold of a potential opportunity, Say YES and figure out how toake it work after.

There's a subconscious act that takes place in your brain when you do that where your brain subliminally knows that it must figure out how to make that thing work, so it goes to work behind the scenes scheming and figuring out how it's going to make it happen!

I hope this little nugget can change your life when the next available chance to use it comes!

Cheers,

Chris

Sort:  

Saying Yes is all about having the I CAN DO SPIRIT this will give u the courage to do everything that comes your way

Amen to that. Making that conscious decision, saying it out loud or to someone else instantly puts a deadline on that thing and an obligation to complete it or fail. If you fail, that's still learning so no matter what it's a win win situation making this type of decision!

Its a golden nugget of wisdom. Thanks for this. The power of the word YES is awesome. Its the first step in making impossible become possible.
Good article you have here. Cheers!

This post was picked at random and resteemed to 5000 followers.

I am not a bot. Upvote this comment if you like this service

Reply "REMOVE" if you do not want this comment displayed on your post

Hey thank you! YES is literally the lynchpin to making things happen.

This post has received a 4.25 % upvote from @booster thanks to: @christheaudioguy.

Great story Christ and I love the point you are making here. I hope that the May 4th will be a blast and I would welcome if you can write a post about your experience here on SteemIt. Good luck. :)

Of course! Its going to be great, I used to perform in front of 100+ crowds as a guitarist many years ago, but never on my own til now. I have a professional photographer coming to get live shots of me as well as my lovely wife to take videos that I will surely post here afterward!

I love the analogy that, if you want to go on a trip, you can't wait for every traffic light between your origin and your destination to turn green at the same time. Of course there are going to be obstacles. Just tackle them one by one.

And the pinnacle moment, the key to all of it is that first physical step. It turns from a thought or idea into a real tangible thing

Thank you for this! Instead of worrying about the details of how and when, next time I'm faced with an opportunity, I'll just go for it! Great post! :)

Awesome I highly suggest it!

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by christheaudioguy from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Sneaky Ninja Attack! You have been defended with a 4.10% vote... I was summoned by @christheaudioguy! I have done their bidding and now I will vanish...Whoosh

You know what you should do? Broadcast it on DLive. They don't take any rewards ;) Also - great nugget. Was one of the seeds I planted last year :P

I think I have to, maybe not live but definitely video of it!

amazing! we can do everything! i love inspiration posts! blessings warrior

Its true, we are usually our own biggest road blocks to getting things done, and this habit axes that issue

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63955.40
ETH 3139.68
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87