Lessons From Hobbits on Risk & Life

in #life7 years ago

 We spend a great deal of time in our lives trying to avoid risk. But a life without risk is a life without reward, opportunity, and adventure. And despite our best efforts to eliminate risk, even our most innocuous of actions can lead to unimagined futures. If you don’t believe me, take it from an authority on risk, the celebrated Hobbit, Bilbo Baggins:

“It's a dangerous business… going out your door. You step onto the road, and if you don't keep your feet, there's no knowing where you might be swept off to.”

This quote from The Lord of The Rings perfectly encapsulates the ever-present element of risk in our lives. The mere act of wandering out your front door can lead to grand adventures that you never dreamed possible. Risk can decide that the time has come for your life to change for ever, much like it did for Bilbo, once a certain meddlesome wizard came to town. One moment you’re kickin’ it in The Shire, the next moment your being hunted down by Ringwraiths and Orcs. Life is like that.

You can never eliminate risk, unless you barricade your front door against wizards. But do not despair! Risk is a thing worth welcoming into your life.

Almost everything worth doing in life requires assuming some level of risk. You want to learn public speaking? You risk embarrassment. You want to ask your crush out on a date? You risk rejection. You want to make a meaningful career change and pursue a passion? You risk your financial security and the sting of failure. If you try to reject risk entirely, you also reject growth, meaningful experiences, and a life worth living. Embracing risk invites the opportunity for reward and adventure into your life.

Without risk, there would be no chance for romance. No great artworks. No unexpected adventures. No detours to Mount Doom with a sexy young Orlando Bloom for company.

Put simply, A life without risk (or Orlando Bloom) would be a life not worth living.

Please feel free to follow me.

Read my last article on Impermenance

Read my opinion on Creating First And Asking Questions Later

Read my article on Vulnerability in Art

Check out my piece on What One Follower Is Worth On Steemit

Join the Steemit Bloggers Community Discord!

Animated Banner Created By @zord189

Image Credits: main image created in Canva; image retrieved from here ; fancy underline credit



Sort:  

So if I’m getting this right, if I keep doing good stupid things with my life suddenly gorgeous, sexy movie star friends will flock to me. I assume I’ve deciphered the moral you were going for perfectly.

Yes. This is the take home message.

😊

Ahh.... Legolas...

Oh, I'm sorry - were you saying something? I got a bit swept away...

Lol right? I was just being silly when I put that in. But he is an objectively handsome man.

You know me - I'm a sucker for the silly. 😄

Gotta risk it to get the biscuit I always say! haha I love this post! It really speaks to me when it comes to taking risks to get the biscs. I have been really enjoying your posts so far! I tend to play it safe to the point where I'm in my own bubble, despite advising others to do the opposite. It's about that time to take the advice instead of give it lol. Big hugs and lots of love bro <3 I love hobbit analogies =)

Thank you, @Staceyjean! I am happy that you've been enjoying my blog. I've been really pleased seeing you show up time and time again.

Truly, no risk equals no rewards

Hobbits have wisdom!

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @chrismccron to be original material and upvoted it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

saya suka film The Lord of The Rings

This post has received gratitude of 0.68 % from @appreciator thanks to: @chrismccron.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 66603.07
ETH 3335.94
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.70