Impermanence: You Can't Stop The Waves

in #life6 years ago

Yesterday was a rough day. Life was giving me a hard go of it, and the day-to-day grind was starting to get the best of me. For every ounce of progress I made, it seemed a pound of problems were being added to my burdens.

Luckily, I found something I wrote a long time ago, scribbled on a tattered piece of paper in my desk drawer:

“Don’t live life like you’re trying to build sand castles too close to the shoreline. As you erect a turret, a wave comes along to obliterate your front gate. For every crenellation you chisel out, another wave begins to flood the moat you carefully constructed. No matter how fast you build, the waves gobble up your flimsy fortress. You retreat, and the tide brings the waves to you eventually. The waves keep coming, despite your best efforts.

Why are you still surprised by the waves? Why are you fooling yourself by trying to build a garrison that can never keep them at bay?

Forget imaginary castles.

Go play in the waves.”

This was a poem I had written once upon a time. Like a message from my past self, it was an idea that I sorely needed to be reminded of: impermanence.

Impermanence

Nothing lasts forever. Change is omnipresent in the universe. Nothing in the world can endure the natural forces that apply to all things. One day, the pyramids will crumble into the sand. The Great Wall of China will be little more than a pile of pebbles. Similarly, our social world is always in flux, with relationships beginning and ending unexpectedly. Life and death occur simultaneous and without friction, chugging along like two unlikely friends on a tandum bicycle. Everything changes eventually. Impermanence, paradoxically, is one of the few constants that we can count on. 

Yet, humans have the audacity to rage against reality. Humans seem to believe that we should be given a free pass against the universal law of impermanence. Our world should be stable. It should be unchanging. It should stand still so that we don’t have to worry about the unknown.

But trying to stop the relentless force of impermanence is like trying to stop the waves of the ocean. It’s a fool’s errand. 

Better to accept reality.

Better to expect the waves.

There is no fortress you can build, physical or psychological, that won’t crumble before the might of impermanence.

So, what are you waiting for?

Go play in the waves.

Please feel free to follow me.

Learn about the philosophy of Living And Dying By Your Own Sword

Read my opinion on Creating First And Asking Questions Later

Read my article on Vulnerability in Art

Check out my piece on What One Follower Is Worth On Steemit

Join the Steemit Bloggers Community Discord!

Animated Banner Created By @zord189

Image Credits: main image created in Canva; fancy underline credit



Sort:  

Wonderfully expressed...a wise man you are...we want control over things we have no control over...better to see things as they truly are...acceptance is the key...I won't complain about today's snow storm...I'll build a snow man instead.

Thank you @bobreedo. Yes, relinquishing the need for control is important. Once you do that, you can focus on controlling your thoughts and actions more effectively, arguably the only two things in your life that you can control.

cheer up!!

Aw thanks hahaha. I am happy again! I forgot to mention that part I suppose ;)

Brilliant post! This immediately reminded me of the Buddhist monks' colorful mandala. They spend hours working together to create intricate designs out of colored sand, then they wash it away soon after they finish. This is a reminder of the doctrine of impermanence, which they call "annica".

Hey @poimenpost! I am big fan of secular Buddhism, so I definitely picked up on the principles surrounding impermanence from Buddhist philosophy. And yes! I have heard of that sand art that they immediately mess up. It is a very powerful metaphor. Thanks for commenting.

This is excellent. Very captivating

Thanks for commenting @Vic-essien. Good to see you around again! I appreciate you dropping by my blog.

Yeah i needed this right now. The whole metaphor is excellent — also, dont you love when you find old stuff you put together not knowing it was meant for your future self?!

Hey @Vron! Haha yes! It is nice to find writings from the past that remind you of important ideas. This was certainly a good example of that in action.

Just the words I needed to hear tonight. Many thanks

You're most welcome!

Go play in the waves! I'm a big fan of this mentality. In fact, I think those who become master surfers in our lifetime will fair well. With such a faced paced modern world that will only continue to speed up, those who succeed will be the ones who can quickly and consciously make decisions without fear of letting go or holding on.

And besides, it's way more fun in the waves anyways ;-)

Great post @chrismccron. I'd love to hear your thoughts about my recent post: These Three Words Will Instantly Change How You Perceive Your Life

Thanks for reading @Axios! You are right; when we embrace change, it makes life exciting and fun. When we recoil against it, we live in fear.

I'll check out that post!

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by ChrisMcCron from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews/crimsonclad, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP. Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @chrismccron to be original material and upvoted it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

When something is not going well, I put my earphones, play some Viking battle music and keep on trying until it improves.
I don't know why, but I have a feeling that music really helps me to focus.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 67780.64
ETH 3792.48
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.63