You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: I AM A MULTI-TASKER ! WHAT ABOUT YOU ?

in #life6 years ago

Cool Topic! I hope counter arguments are welcome? 😈

I think there is a time and a place for multi-tasking and I don't think it's a gender specific trait but I'd be curious about research on that if anybody has access.

As an employee I felt that I was constantly being pulled into multiple situations, meetings, tasks etc that were distractions from the task at hand and the important work that needed to be done got lost in a sea of email, phone calls and unnecessary meetings. As an employer, I'm trying to foster less multi-tasking and more "being in the zone". For example empowering people to just say no to anything that's not directly linked to their main goal for the day, week, month ... whatever. Easier said than done though.

For complex development and highly creative tasks, I believe multi-tasking is more often than not counter productive, drives lower quality output and leaves people feeling stressed and less positive about the work they're doing.

I actually posted on the topic of Finding Flow back in 2015 citing work by Hungarian psychologist Mihály Csíkszentmihályi who defined Flow as the mental state in which you’re completely focused, engaged and enjoying what you’re doing. His diagram below kind of spells it all out ..

flow.webp

One big "BUT" to all of this would be kids which seems to get mentioned in this thread. I imagine the needs of a child could break even the best concentration. 👶

Sort:  

Well this is really interesting
46B1142E-E7A9-4726-8430-3EF578E2628D.png
I would blog about it here on steemit !
I would vote for it 💪
How is steemit life going ? I pushed you in the pay it forward contest so that people would visit your posts did it work...
Greetzz from Holland

That's a great idea - I'm pretty into that kind of stuff so maybe I'll take a stab at that over the weekend and yes thanks so much for the contest props!! I'm def off to a slow start but it's ok just trying to make sure I like this place before I engage too much. I move slow (at first) ;) I hope you're having an awesome weekend over there!! cjb

Chris slow starters are the ones who eventually finish in one piece 😉 we have storm and rain overhere but with the fireplace its a cosy easy weekend. GREETZ from Holland

Miami.jpg
Clouds are rolling in here too this afternoon 😏 #miami
Enjoy the night ...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 59367.33
ETH 3172.01
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43