A visit to my paternal and maternal town, made me feel nostalgic.

in #life6 years ago (edited)

One of the most nostalgic as well as an exciting moment in the life is to visit our ancestor's place. It becomes more exciting when both paternal and maternal ancestors had the same place.
Last week I visited this town named Pratapgarh in Rajasthan, state of India. About 50 yrs before it was a small town but now it is a district headquarter.
Pratapgarh is a very important place for us as it is a place of my Paternal and maternal-
Great Grandmother
Grand Mother
Great Grandfather and
Grand father's native place.
Most of the house of our ancestors is as in old condition as nobody living there, so it becomes a great opportunity for me and my children to visit these housed of our ancistors.
My father's and mother's childhood also spent in the same town at different period.

IMG_9379.JPG

paternal house of my great grandmother (paternal)

IMG_9378.JPG

My children posing with relatives of great grandmother (paternal)

IMG_9426.JPG

Paternal house of my mother where she spent her childhood

IMG_9429.JPG

Paternal house of my mother where she spent her childhood (Entrance)

IMG_9430.JPG

Very old shop from where my mother said she used to buy Namkeen(a type snack)

IMG_9419.JPG

Halwai(Sweet maker) making mango sweet

IMG_9423.JPG

More than 100 years old school where my father completed his primary education in 1951

IMG_9413.JPG

A water body of the town where my mother and father used to go to take bath and washing clothes in their childhood. In photo myself with my mother, father, sister, and son

IMG_9441.JPG

IMG_9446.JPG

I have memories with this grandfather's house as I remember I used to visit here in vacations in my childhood in 70's(Entrance)

IMG_9454.JPG

My grandmother's paternal house where her brother still live with his family

IMG_9457.JPG

A very old temple near the town where my mother and father used to visit in their childhood

IMG_9465.JPG

My father told us that he used to climb on this tree (in temple premices) with friends so my son and daughter also tried to climb but they couldn't :-)

This short one day visit was very memorable specially for my children who could see their ancistor.s town and houses.
Everybody has a wish to visit their ancistors place, did you get chance ever? Would like to know your experiences

Sort:  

It look very memorable and enjoyable trip to your ancestors town with your family members.
Recently i got a chance to visit my ancestor town, But presently their were no one lives at our home. So, our home is almost destroyed. I have only memories of that house because at my childhood I visited many times and lives some day their in vacations with my grandmother. That was wonderful days. Thanks for the post.

It is really nostalgic to visit ancestor's place.T hanks for sharing your experiences.

Hi chetanpadliya Sir Very Interesting Content and Memoriable Movement For You Sir .

hello @Chetanpadliya,
Nice to see that you are also from Rajasthan. I am also from udaipur.
I have been to Pratagarh 2-3 times.
But u know one thing....You forgot to mention one important aspect of Pratapgarh for which it is famous for....Heeng (Asafoetidia...i Hope i spelled it correctly).
All in all...a superb post. I will also post my visit to my Parents childhood village.
Also i have followed,commented and upvoted your post. Please do me a favour by doing the same and help me grow on steemit.
Thanks ChetanJi

Yes I know, Hing is very famous of Pratapgarh and we enjoyed Hing ki Kachori during our visit.
Thanks for the comment.

Thanks for Upvoting Chetanji

As a follower of @followforupvotes this post has been randomly selected and upvoted! Enjoy your upvote and have a great day!

Very interesting. I am not a native of Rajasthan, but I and my dad are in love with its history, forts, and palaces. We have been there for 7 times by now. And we just enjoy there. We have been to all the famous cities and palaces, but is there some less known places to visit in Rajasthan that you know of? It would be a great help!

Yes. there are a lot less unknown interesting places to visit.

Yes. there are a lot
Less unknown interesting
Places to visit.

                 - chetanpadliya


I'm a bot. I detect haiku.

You got a 6.24% upvote from @postpromoter courtesy of @chetanpadliya!

Want to promote your posts too? Check out the Steem Bot Tracker website for more info. If you would like to support the development of @postpromoter and the bot tracker please vote for @yabapmatt for witness!

Pratapgarh is a beautiful place, I have visited it before

A very beautiful place and interesting especially our ancestors there.
and this should also be captured and must also be written let not lost its history.
Good job my friend

i like the boy climbing the tree pic. It reminds me of my childhood days at my grandmother’s house

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 64440.63
ETH 2653.79
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.80