You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: I Never Wanted Kids of My Own. Why Did I Change My Opinion?

in #life7 years ago (edited)

I am the oldest of 4 kids, grew up in a chaotic family, constantly moving bc "military brat". As early on as 13ish i was already saying no kids ever.
My mother was like "oh you'll change your mind"
Late teens/beginning of college - same mindset from me, same response from mom
Mid 20's starting of the career - same thing from both parties
Now 29 married, still the same thing from both parties.
The major difference now being that I'm in a career where i care for and help people regain mobility. I am also excellent caregiver of my animals. I'm aware of that. Lately, my Mindset is, i don't feel id be a good mother because i have a lot of personal issues that i go to counseling for and feel like that needs to be taken care of. Meanwhile my story sounds a lot like yours, he wants two, i toy with the idea but right now it is a no. At one point i would've had my tubes tied if icould have.
My Issue is, yes I'm good at my job that involves taking care of humans but I don't bring them home with me (@ my mom /husband). Yes i an good at taking care of my animals but they're not children for crying out loud.
Thanks for sharing your insight on this

Sort:  

Thanks for your openness about the subject. This was a big struggle for me, I constantly lived thinking whether I would be a good mother, or if I really wanted to have a 24/7 job (because it is!!!); I like to travel and do other things that would need to be cut out for a long while or forever because now financial resources are going to be directed just to provide for the family and the future of the kid. There is a lot to think about, including your husbands future.
I feel your struggle and I wish for you to find your answer sooner than later, because with all the other overwhelming things in life there is no need for this one to be hunting us day and night.
Following you now. Good luck with everything!

Thanks for your thoughtful response. Means a lot! ♡

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 65128.68
ETH 3442.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52