You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: I Broke My Leg! I Couldn't Stop Abusing Myself!

in #life7 years ago

We should chat. I still struggle GREATLY with Lauras death. What you were describing as not really feeling sad but just feeling basically nothing & the not eating thing, that's depression, I am sure you know that. I love running been at it more than half my life. I have had stress fractures before once when I first started running and was over doing it. Did you get it xrayed? I'm sorry you have to deal with it, no fun. Hit me up on Facebook or discord DM if you want to chat. Laura is on my mind every day. She made a much larger impact on the art community and otherwise than she'd ever know. I still expect to be getting fb messages or whatever from her.
BIG {{HUGS}} to you ♡♡

Sort:  

We can talk anytime <3 Thank you!
The funny thing Is I didn't quite understand it was possibly depression. I think it's the first time I've experienced it for myself.
I haven't had it xrayed yet. I'm still looking into the whole insurance situation first.
I'm glad she impacted you as much as she did me! It makes me sick to think she's just gone. I hope we can both feel better about it overall.

I'm glad I could help you see that regarding your depression. Just take good care of yourself. I still need to get your coloring books. Laura talked about you allot. I think you were a positive person to have in her life!!

Anyway, Sounds like you are doing just the right thing for yourself though. You have realised the problem and ways to fix it. You are not embracing a victim mentality by "having to work." I like that mindset. Inspiring.

I am a physical therapist assistant. There is a nearly sure fire way to "test" if you've got an actual stress fracture on your hands. I am assuming it is pain in either your foot (metatarsals) or shin area? Those are the most common. You may have the pain higher up in your femur but that is less likely.

Do the single leg hop test. That is hop on the side (left or right) that it hurts on. So if it's you right and you hop on one foot (right foot) under normal healthy circumstances there is NO pain. If you've got a stress fracture, you will get pinpoint intense or sharp pain when you hop on one foot.

You will then need to rest it from intense weight bearing activities like extensive walking, any hiking or running. You can do low to non weight bearing stuff in the meantime like BIKE or swim. On terms of caloric burn you can expect 3 miles on the bike at a moderate intensity would equal 1 mile of running.

I had to learn The hard way about that. I started running for my mental health. When i could not run, i had to find a way to get those endorphins out other ways.

Some people like to ice with peas or a flexible ice pack 15 min, 3x/ day. I think it would help You.

Stress fractures can take upwards of 6-8 weeks to heal, longer if you aren't supplementing with calcium & vitamin D.

Meantime, i wouldn't fret too much about an xray, stress fractures can take up to 3 weeks to show up on an xray.

I've really blabbered here but you brought up three really relevant things to me - Laura being great & highly missed, running, my physical therapy brain, and depression which i deal with.

Take care & talk soon ♡♡

Laura did? awww! I had no idea hehe.

Thank you so much for this! I did the hop test and found the sharp pain :/
I'm glad that I can at least bike or swim! I haven't exercised at all besides my job, And that has been really hard on me!

Aww You run too? I do the same! It makes such a big difference!
Yikes thats a long time for it to heal. But I'll do my best to keep up on vitamins.

Thank you so much for this help! I had no idea what to do and I've been worried.

I hope you are able to keep running! And working on your depression :( She will! I'm glad she's not suffering anymore. But I still want her here! Let me know if I can help or anything! :)

Take care!

Aw, I'm sorry to hear you had a positive "hop test".... but at least you now have some indication. I have been running for 15 years now and barring an act of God I will not stop. But I've had My share of the injuries so I feel you!!
My job is very physically demanding too sometimes it is hard to find the energy to run.
Well, best wishes to you on a speedy recovery & good health here on forward! =)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58470.94
ETH 2653.59
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43