You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: How to give helpful praise instead of harmful praise

in #life7 years ago

Thanks so much for the insight @sizzlingmonkeys!!
I often make the mistake with my son and praise him instead of his work. We really have to "think before we speak". I have started praising his efforts instead but now and then I tell him how awesome he is...
Some people might say that it does them no harm, but unconsciously it makes a world of difference.
Thanks for the great reminder :)

Sort:  

Nice to see there are other parents around on Steemit! I try really hard to give my kids helpful praise, but I also slip into toxic praise every now and then, and I am sure I even give toxic criticism to boot sometimes!

It's hard to be a great parent, but I guess we just need to be good enough and the kids will appreciate the effort. Thanks for leaving a comment!

Yip, great to see other parents here.
In the end we're all human and will make mistakes, but we can definitely try our hardest :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.026
BTC 57396.91
ETH 2446.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.41