The Charity Donation Challenge - Day1 - Smile of the Child

in #life7 years ago

-3 days
-A donation to a philanthropic organization each of the 3 days.
-Each day you mention the name of the organization with a brief description and a picture relevant to their scope.
-You may nominate at least 3 steemians to participate every day.
-Be disciplined and honest, it is for a good reason.

NOTES:

  1. I trust you do have e-banking. Those not, walk in your nearest bank branch, or go directly to the organization to offer, or transfer to a trustworthy steemian friend to do it for you. JUST FIND THE WAY PEOPLE .
  2. The more we give the more we get... in our soul.
  3. You are Steemians. You do offer in here. Let's expand it!

The smile of the Child
Next to every child victim of Violence
Physical, Sexual and Psychological Abuse, Neglect, Bullying, Smuggling & Trafficking

logo.png

I would like to invite the following friends to participate:
@mariandavp
@tikotiko
@onceuponatime
@skapaneas

Sort:  

Excellent idea @chbalk, surely I am going to pick it up and help make a trend of something good for a change!

Well then, I hope that you are able to inspire me one more time :-)

I wish you had started with a discussion of your aim and how you hope to achieve it (and how getting others involved will add to the goal).

To do good in the world is not an easy thing (on any large scale).

It is perhaps easiest to achieve in the closest proximity to you yourself. A smile, or a kind word where needed, encouragement to someone feeling hopeless, a few euros to a homeless person in a desperate situation.

One must have a high level of self awareness to discern that what you are doing is for the good of the other and not to feed your own vanity. And be very careful to not rob another of a sense of self worth or add to dependency.

Charitable work is best done quietly, without fanfare of any kind, and certainly without promoting yourself to a community or the world as a "philanthropist". The ultimate (as in the shortest path for your soul's journey) is to do good in a way that you actually get blamed for it (known as the Malamati Path) because it starves rather than feeds the individual ego.

Is knowing the end use of donated money to an organization something you want to pursue with the time and effort that would entail? I can guarantee you that some money donated to certain "charitable" organizations has been used for purposes very far removed from what naive "donors" thought they were supporting.


But if you think I am wrong in my attitude, please explain. I am more than willing to listen.

Overall, people are moved by seeing what others do ... & to inspire people to give by making it public may be the "push" people need ... and the reminder that small donations when pooled together can make a giant impact ...

To "inspire" people to give mindlessly is a travesty and an abomination. Please inspire people to wake up and take responsibility for their actions.

Exactly !!!

I agree - giving mindlessly can do more harm than good. And, ... giving money away "properly" is not an easy task ...

In my view doing good is a lifelong experience ...

... and keeping a running commentary is essential so that we may build on the things that really work... and keep learning & growing.

Who doesn' t like discussing with you? :)
But don't you feel sometimes that this forum is too public to discuss...?

Seeding ideas and discipline is not that harmful I believe...
I really wish everybody readind this challenge was thinking "... chbalk you are talking about a sparkle but I already have the flame" and thus no need for this approach...
I care more on the potential outcome (even if it remains silent and unknown); on the correct selection of the organizations or those in proximate need that might be benefited rather than being burnt and blamed. What is best than being a burnt, forgotten, back-scene match that ignited a chain reaction for a good change?

There are many things I have been longing to say but can't because the venue is too public.

Good morning and good week.. it is rally very very good idea..
It's a matter that hurts me because my mother grew up in a foundation like that.. I know a lot of stories...
I have already supported your challenge..

Thank you @chbalk!!
You urged me to think...for sure kivotos tou kosmou...stay tuned!

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvote this reply.

This is a really good idea! Keep it up, guys!

Even though I have a very good understanding of how MKO's work and their business model I cant help it but want to help for this cause so count me in. I am not really sure that I can contribute to create some impact on it but I am willing to do so regardless.

It's really a great initiative <3
I Request all whales who are reading my comment to participate as much as you can to fulfil motive behind this post :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63525.38
ETH 2645.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.76