"What is dick?" This question is real one that I asked a woman years ago! Here's background. "Comedy Open Mic Round 4"

in #life6 years ago (edited)

I was studying in an university of UK a long time ago.

Because English is not my first language, learning and improving English was one of my main concerns in life, it still does.

Different from my effort to learn English, Looking up dictionary to find the meaning of a word was a tiresome.

Because I was busy doing homework and other things, I came up with a great idea to improve my English.

That was whenever I watch TV, then I read subtitles, if I found a word I didn't know then I wrote down a note.

And then following then, I was able to ask my colleague about the meaning.

At that time, I was also doing part time jobs in the computing help desk as an adviser.

One night I caught a conversation on the TV subtitle like " you're an idiot, you are such a dickhead"

So, I decided to ask my colleagues the sentence "you are such a dickhead."

I knew just roughly about the meaning of "dickhead" for just as bad meaning.

So I just presumed the meaning of the word is "stupid" or something.

In the following day, I asked my colleagues with loud voice. "What is a dick?"

Suddenly, all of the colleagues were looking at me with very awkward face!

And soon after a lady approached me pointing between my legs and saying,

"Dick is the thingy that between your legs and laughed a lot"

That was the most awkward moment and embarrassing in my life.

I remember the times in UK and miss it, but still I am not confident my English.

It needs great courage for me to write my funny story in English. I hope you enjoy and understand my English!

Have a good day!

I'd like to nominate @notb4mycoffee and @sinzzer.

Sort:  

Great Story, Welcome to #ComedyOpenMic.

Thanks @comedyopenmic, I am being flattered that I am invited for a funny story contest in English! Thanks!

Haha, keep up the learning!
Btw, there's a comedy contest called Comedy Open Mic, where people won't care if your English is bad and where you can submit funny incidents and stories like this one.
Awesome rewards for almost everyone participating so do give it a shot!
All the best. ;)

Yes I think @chairmanlee will do well in the comedy contest😊

Hear, hear!
While we're at it, why not you join it too, @joetunex? :D

😁 I will check it out @yesaye this sounds likes fun

Thanks @yesaye ! I resteemed the post! I will go through it and try the contest! Thanks for a good info!

Awesome, looking forward to your epic entry @chairmanlee!
Thank you for the resteem! :)

You're more than welcome!

Haha btw what's your native language buddy?

ha ha Korean.. South Korean, not North!

Nice to see people joining the contest from all over the world!
I'm from India btw. :D

I visited India two times. Mumbai and other city long time ago! I'd like to visit there again in the future.. And I think India will be a great power in the future!

Can you please nominate 2 people to join the contest?

Thank you for your considerate advise! I'd like to nominate @notb4mycoffee and @sinzzer.

😂😂 you just made me laugh so much and my colleagues are staring at me. I like they way you asked "what is dick" lol , everyone will definitely stare at you and if I was there I would have laughed so hard.
And the lady actually explained it better to you, I thinks. It would have been more awkward if a guy have explained it to you.

Your English is great now, no need to be shy.
Have a great day from Johannesburg

Hi! @joetunex Thanks for encouraging me! Due to your comment, I think I can write more often about my story in English. Hope you advise me when you found better expression or wrong grammar! Have a good day!

You are welcome @chairmanlee and I will definitely read your post with the intention of correcting your English if need be. Otherwise you doing great! 😊

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvote this reply.

Ha ha great story.

Thank you! Have a good day!

ㅎㅎㅎ 한글로 번역해서 올려 놓으셔도 재밌을것 같아요.

greetings @chairmanlee, welcome to @comedyopenmic, see that's a good dick story there!

👍👍- for not dicking with us and telling is straight!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 71122.86
ETH 3848.97
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.49