You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: This series of stories will be titled ‘I’m surprised I turned out as well as I did, given my childhood…’ 13

in #life7 years ago

Are you sure you didn't raid my toy closet? LOL I had the same toys including the bobble-head. I also had a black haired doll with chocolate skin. Granny called her Black Baby. How politically incorrect! I think I named her Dolly. I also had a book called "Little Black Sambo". I don't think that one is in print anymore...

Sort:  

I had that book too! But thinking about it - why exactly is it politically incorrect? He was little, he was black, his name was Sambo (I presume, it was many deacdes ago). And the story was about how he outwitted the tigers. Why is any of that offensive? Why is it not just descriptive? (I'm not having a go at you, of course, but I do think PC is taken way too far.)

I think so too. I also think that racism is a learned emotion, same as hate.

The child is a sponge and for a little while at least, takes on everything that's experienced by him/her and stores it away for use later - even if that 'later' is MUCH later, in adulthood.

I too think that political correctness has gone too far. Has the world become so thin-skinned that we must tread on eggshells for fear of hurting someone's sensibilities?

I think I remember that book. I also remember my grandad reciting the rhyme to me too. Oh boy, we did NOT know any better :(

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63314.98
ETH 3233.91
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.88