This series of stories will be titled ‘I’m surprised I turned out as well as I did, given my childhood…’ 13

in #life7 years ago (edited)

Toys I remember from back then…

I had a doll… I probably had more than one, but I remember one and only one.

Her name was ‘Toni’ and I’ve no idea where I got that name. She had black hair and chocolate-coloured skin. I’m not sure why I had that doll but thinking on it as I’m older, it must have been really unusual back then.

I had a ‘Tingha and Tucker’ boomerang and I have no idea why I remember that!

One of those hollow balls which you could fit different shapes of all colours into the corresponding hole.

And I had a Golly.

My great-grandmother (Bottom Row) had one of these Bobble-Heads.

Exceptionally inappropriate, but memories nonetheless.

And one of those press-down spinning tops,

And at Grandma Gladys’ house, there was one of these.

Because I had older cousins, when I went to visit Grandma Gladys, there were old, battered toy cars. This one and the James Bond car were my favourites.

We had bendy toys too.

I remember Popeye and Pink Panther – Noddy seems familiar, but I can’t be 100% sure.

And this was passed down… to my brother and then to my sister.

I had one of these!

My absolute favourites lived at my Grandad Harold’s house (father’s father).

A blue and red trampoline – that was passed down to my kids but died due to metal fatigue and rust.

And Dapple.

Dapple was my all-time best toy. I was only allowed to play on it at Grandad Harold’s house because there was no room at home.

When we had our own kids, we took it and I still have it. Dapple is showing signs of age, the frame is rusty, but that’s one thing I’ll never get rid of.

Images from Google (Sorry... always forget that bit)

Sort:  

Are you sure you didn't raid my toy closet? LOL I had the same toys including the bobble-head. I also had a black haired doll with chocolate skin. Granny called her Black Baby. How politically incorrect! I think I named her Dolly. I also had a book called "Little Black Sambo". I don't think that one is in print anymore...

I had that book too! But thinking about it - why exactly is it politically incorrect? He was little, he was black, his name was Sambo (I presume, it was many deacdes ago). And the story was about how he outwitted the tigers. Why is any of that offensive? Why is it not just descriptive? (I'm not having a go at you, of course, but I do think PC is taken way too far.)

I think so too. I also think that racism is a learned emotion, same as hate.

The child is a sponge and for a little while at least, takes on everything that's experienced by him/her and stores it away for use later - even if that 'later' is MUCH later, in adulthood.

I too think that political correctness has gone too far. Has the world become so thin-skinned that we must tread on eggshells for fear of hurting someone's sensibilities?

I think I remember that book. I also remember my grandad reciting the rhyme to me too. Oh boy, we did NOT know any better :(

what a fun post, thanks for sharing the photos and sharing your story. I love the rocking horse, a classic piece no doubt a good decision to never part with it.

Thank you :)

I had to add that I got the pictures from Google, sorry about that.

Looking back at the pictures, I tried to recall the exact picture that represented my memory though :)

I'm pleased you enjoyed it.

Very nostalgic... oh sweet memories of dem good old days....
I particularly remember my childhood memories at a very tender age of 4years, i was a destructive theorist, i used to dissect all my toys (i dont know what i was hoping to figure out at such an age)... When i got fed up with dealing with my toys, i started dismantling equipments in the house, i particularly remember our black and white tv, which i took apart all the knobs for changing channels and adjusting volume... I dont know why those memories just never left my mind all these years... Dont mean to bore you though... I just got carried away as i read your captivating childhood stories...

If you are up to it... Do support minnows growth on steemit, by accepting this gift of mine

Not bored at all! Thank you for sharing.

These toys ranged from my very early memories. The Tingha and Tucker was so early, I didn't have siblings :) Happy Days ;)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70753.86
ETH 3589.34
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.75