Learning when its time to move on

in #life6 years ago

images (2).jpeg
Steemians can you recall the last time you held a grudge against someone for so long that eventually it just became part of you and every single fiber that makes up the person you are?

So about the grudge I mentioned in my post title, this video is a brief conversation that I held with my biological father. Its been close to I want to say 20 years if not many more but I'll say 20 years since I last spoke with him. You see the last time I saw him it was a slug festival I begin payig him back for the physical abuse he had given me for multiple years as a young child growig up. It all started when I was about 5-6 years old I was so happy to get the chance to stay with my real father for the summer I knew very little about him but our talks on the phone had me convinced he was basically a super hero (far from it) upon my areival to his beaten down house he showed me the couch I'd be sleeping on and that very night he finally talked yo me after ignoring me and drinking with his neighbor for the first few hours, keep in mind I arrived there at 8 am a social worker dropped me off from Missouri he lived in Illinois. He has told me to take out the over filled trash and being as how i was just so excited to want to impress the guy I tried but it was so heavy with beer cans and god knows what else that when I lifted it I fell over. Well he wasnt happy about that, thats ehen he grabbed me by my arm and proceeded to teach me respect for his nasty ass house. I cant recall how log he hit me and dragged me around by my arm but it felt like hours this kind of behavior lasted for literally weeks, finally the Super cool social worker showed up and had made the only remark I could hear something along the lines of I needed to do a quick house inspection and as he walked in he saw that my nose had been broken and i had a bruised up face dirty ass smelling clothes his eyes were wide he came over picked me up and said I was getting F*#k out of here and thats the first time I remember seeing a man that even to this day is my role model. My mother's father arrived he was my grand father he had a car filled with younger giys from my home town and he didnt come to talk to anyone he came to take me out of the place and to return the much needed ass whippings. This man had a stroke and was hospitalized for several days with out being able to find my mom the system had no choice but to place me with him, and when my grand father heard he refused treatment got up and left thehospital he was admitted to. Now for several reasons I wont go into any more detail about what took place, but i will say this if I can brig myself to let go of anything and everything this man did to me I pretty sure there are some of you that can do the same. I did make sure he let the drinking and drugs agoand I made sure he knew that if he crossed any lines I'd break him but he seems as though he wants a chance at foregiveness.


 

 

Time doesn't heal everything but it does help with a lot if things. Steemians the point behind 2hy I'm creating this post is to show primarily show a littlw about myself and what has made me into the father I am today. I have a saying I like to run with and thats just because we are from something bad doesn't mean we have to be that I love my kids and I'd die for every one of them with out a moments thought in to the matter. To all of you who took the time to reviewthis post and watch the snippet video I appreciate it. You all have a good one and stay safe.

 

 

Disclaimer The image I decided to use in the header of this post can be found at the following url tns.thenews.com.pk I wish you all the best thanks for viewing.

Sort:  

This made me sad . I know time doesn’t heal pain but it helps it fade slowely but surly so hang on and keep hanging on things will get better

Thanks for sharing this with us, I know it's hard. I'm currently not speaking to my father for past 1 year. I know it's a bad thing and we will regret it, but life is a bit*h sometimes :(

@whack.science I enjoyed the comment had to upvote it.

I don't mind ;) :P

@whack.science i hope everything works out for you man i really do

Thanks man, we are stubborn a lot. But, time will tell...

Have a great day or evening! Respect!

if I can bring myself to let go of anything and everything this man did to me I pretty sure there are some of you that can do the same.

Yeah, this is true. Forgiveness takes time and courage. Forgiving is different than forgetting, that's for sure.

I can imagine he looks at you differently these days. You're not a little kid anymore. Hearing him telling that story about the guy who said "just one more thing" then hung himself - he's talking to you as a man talks with a man. He sees you differently now. @ironshield

@ironshield not only did your comment show me that you read my post and listened, but it speaks volumes I must say. You are absolutely he does view me very much different.

Hello friend, this issue is very personal this situation of the father who mistreats the child looks a lot, in my country venezuela the laws are not so rude, but as for us as people there are no laws or country the feeling of resentment is the same time they say that it heals the wounds, but not completely, it is your decision to forgive or not your father, I have not lived that situation, but I know that there are parents who never change

I'm grateful for your support, I hope you fix your situation and take the best decision friend

the fact of having the opportunity to heal the wounds in your soul, should take advantage, there are those who all their lives eat their soul, to keep in their heart so much resentment, we do not choose our parents but no doubt for some reason we lived it , maybe to make us stronger

How are you friend? You are right when you say that time does not cure everything but if it helps a lot I agree with you in that, it is good that after this you are a great father many people are left with consequences of what happened in their childhood with their parents, I am very happy that be as you are with your children

I saw the video a bit but I speak Spanish and I do not understand much English I think almost nothing so I go to what you wrote, it is not good to hold a grudge for more damage that they do to us the important thing is that you are well and somehow I pass the time and you could be a little better and that you treat your children very well that you give them a lot of love @carterx7

your life stories always touch me greatly..
no scripts are needed for movie-tragedies, because life is full of them

parents and relationships with them influence us much
and now I understand more about you..

Beep!Beep! @shadow3scalpel & listkeeper @chairborne have your six new veterans, retirees and military members on STEEM. We’ll be patrolling by to upvote your posts (because you are on the list) and we'll answer any questions you leave us. Comment by @shadowspub. This is a opt-in bot.

Life is too short to be mad and hate others. Thanks for sharing

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 60648.94
ETH 2906.35
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.60