You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The Deadpost Initiative - Week 6 - Share your most undervalued work (SBD prize) + week 5 winners

in #life7 years ago

Hi, this my post for the contest:
https://steemit.com/news/@carlosdaniel/how-decriminalization-of-all-drugs-saved-lives

Portugal facing an epidemic of heroin overdose deaths decided to decrimilize all drugs and adopt a new model of prevantion and treatement for addicts helping the lives of thousand of people!

Sort:  

I really wish America would end the war on drugs and adopt this policy

I agree Portugal's policies seem to be doing the job, but as long as governments can make money on the "War on Drugs", whilst in some cases supplying the demand......there will always be a problem..

I'm happy to see this report that confirms what my mother told me when I was a child. These so-called wars on drugs are nothing more than a farce. Human nature is such that anything that is forbidden becomes enticing! As a child, my parents never denied us alcoholic drinks. What they said was that since we were small, we got just a little while the adults got more. They demonstrated appropriate use of alcohol and it was not taboo nor abused. When I was in high school and someone invited me to join them in drinking a bottle of booze, I politely declined because alcohol wasn't a big deal... I had easy access to it any time I wanted some (and that was rare). It was a drink for special occasions. Make something commonplace and the allure for it diminishes.

I've had a similar experience with alcohol and actually I didn't drink at all until I was almost legal because when it wasn't forbidden the only thing to go by was taste and who the hell wants to drink the crap high school kids are drinking?

This is definetly an interesting example and it would be great to see other countries learn from it.

You are correct, with alcohol I believe you can drink it everyday, the problem is if you only drink 1 cup of wine each meal, or 4 ;)

Uhmm, pretty curious to witness that supposedly 'advanced societies' from scandinavian countries are the ones with the highest rate of Drug-induced deaths of people. ¡Go figure! :%

This post is really helpful @carlosdaniel. It is very much needed also - in parts of the World where people falsely believe that the best way to go about this is to clamp down on drug (ab)users and rob them of their time, their freedom and their lives.

If I had a 4th vote. This would definitely take it.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 62904.98
ETH 3359.08
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.46