You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Why College? An Honest Insider's Guide for Students and Parents

in #life6 years ago

This is such a timely post, and so well thought out and presented. In many ways I feel that the college debt I accrued is the biggest mistake I have made in my life. My experience in the job market tells me that getting a degree means next to nothing compared to experience; and taking on added responsibility once inside a company, and taking advantage of internal training, is usually a faster track to upper level jobs than the master's level degree in business or whatever. And don't get me started on the traditional educational model. You would be hard pressed to design a worse method of education than to to ask students to sit still and listen while a professor speaks. Not all classrooms are like that, all the time, but it is still the standard model. And it ignores the way humans work - we have hundreds of thousands of years of evolutionary history honing our ability to learn through participant observation and hands on engagement. We have a tiny little span of human history spent learning by sitting still and listening and reading out of a book.

Looking forward to more posting from you!

This post was nominated by a @curie curator to be featured in an upcoming Author Showcase post on the @curie blog. If you agree to be featured in this way, please reply and:

  • Let us know if we can quote text and/or feature images from your post.
  • If you would like to provide a brief statement about your posting, your life or anything else to be included in the article, you can do so in reply here or look me up on Discord chat (@gnashster#6522 ) or even (last resort) email, same username as here with ye olde gmail appended.

You can check out the previous week's Author Showcase to get an idea of what we are doing with these posts.

Cheers - Carl (@curie curator)


Curie Badge transparency.png

Sort:  

@carlgnash, first let me say I am very humbled by the nomination. I follow @curie’s work and have considered working to become a curator, but I don’t think I’m up to the task at this point in my Steemit career. You can definitely feature my post and quote it any way you wish. I will send a blurb before I close out this evening. Thanks!

@carlgnash, thanks again for the @curie showcase. It was definitely a nice boost to my motivation, in general, but in regard to this series as well. Here is a link to post #2 in the series, in case you are interested in checking it out. I know @curie spreads out the wealth, so dropping the link for your personal enjoyment :)
https://steemit.com/life/@cstrimel/what-is-college-actually-for-2nd-post-in-the-series-why-college-an-honest-insider-s-guide-for-students-and-parents

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 59139.97
ETH 2676.50
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44