You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: "Do you pray for the dead?" ~ Ruminations on God's Sovereignty Over Time

in #life6 years ago

This is a wonderful write up on an interesting topic in Christianity (I guess most other religions kinda dodged the whole "eternal damnation" thing, lolz).

I have my own beliefs concerning the existence of Hell, what it is, blah blah blah, but I think it's still important to live like it's there just to be safe. But if God is sovereign, then eternity and damnation and Hell and forgiveness and sin are under His power, not the other around. Wouldn't damning ourselves give sin a power over God? Or doesn't the claim that God has the power to cleanse sin but let's Hell happen anyways kinda refute the hippie Jesus stuff?

I dunno. I love God, I'm glad you do too, and, like, I dunno. Christians need a new image, but I guess we also need some seriously Christ-like people if anyone's gonna take us seriously.

<3

Sort:  

Hi Caleb,

Thanks for dropping by and commenting. I agree that Christians have a tarnished image, but that is as much a problem for people who just assume that we are something that we're not.

The best remedy for that is conversation on a person to person level, I think. Get to know an individual Christian, and surprise, you may discover he/she doesn't fit the stereotypes! ;)

Take care!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 57517.26
ETH 3075.25
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.34