Why I Will Not Smoke Marijuana Until it is LegalizedsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #life7 years ago

So before I start this article and people instantly head to the comments saying that im a coward and afraid of the law or whatever, that isn’t the point of this article. In fact my decision to smoke or not smoke weed has zero percent on whether it is illegal or not. I personally believe legality is enforcement and the chances of me getting arrested or in trouble for smoking marijuana is very very low. I live in an area that is more open to the idea and the cops probably wouldn’t go to great lengths to hassle me about it.

So why do I choose not to smoke until it is legal? Simply, I am an advocate for consumer rights and if I am putting something in my body I want to know exactly what it is and what it will do to me. I have an anxiety disorder and I have a bit of a phobia when it comes to being afraid of putting something in my body. The idea that something I put in my boy might cause a bad reaction and ultimately me to have a panic attack, scares me. This is why I avoid marijuana today, primarily because I don’t know if it has something else on it (sprinkled with other drugs).

I hate alcohol primarily because of the hangover and the times in my life I have used marijuana, it has been a good experience. I want to have a good experience in the future, which is why I want to speak to a salesman with knowledge of a product and recommend a strand that is exactly what im looking for. There isn’t such thing as only one type of marijuana, there are hundreds if not thousands of different strands and mixtures. Depending on which one you choose, you could end up a little bit energized, or put into a more relaxed state.

There are also different levels of intensities that have come from breeding and cross breeding different strands, so I want to be able to find the sweet spot. Im not looking to smoke marijuana every day, but if I do choose to smoke it and relax a little, I want to use the product that will most relax me. This is an uncertainty until the industry is legalized and people who have knowledge about the uses, are able to sell it. Drug dealers may promise you one thing, but deliver something else because at the end of the day, the people selling do you directly don’t usually know what exactly is in the product.

There is no doubt in my mind that eventually the majority of states will legalize marijuana for recreational use and the industries that have propped up in places like Colorado, will exist everywhere. Completely avoiding the political discussion and putting all else aside, this is the point in my life where I would try it again. When I do , I will go on the recommendations of people who know the product and on the information I am provided about the product directly.


Thanks to @Elyaque for the badges

Sort:  

I agree, I probably wont smoke marijuana anyway, but if I was going to give it a try, it would definitely be if I know exactly what is in the mix.

Me too, but I buy thousand of smoke token looking forward to make a smoke.network

You'd think a government that puts taxes on everything would want to make cannabis legal and be able to tax it. Too bad big pharma wants it gone so that they can control the medication available to people. Instead of having a medication that is a plant, has been show to help many people, and generally has no negative side affects if used appropriately, let's go ahead and give people medication that is made in a lab with thousands of chemicals that have negative side effects. Makes sense. Cannabis really should be legalized and regulated. At least that way, people know they're getting real cannabis and nothing synthetic or it being mixed with something else

promo_banner.png

Yeah, there has always been a weird clash with governments and substances even back to prohibition. I think lobbying by big pharma to keep it illegal does happen, but im just not sure how much of a difference it really makes.

What's the legalization looking like in your state?

I have read of people in my fb groups being stopped repeatedly outside the borders of Colorado and searched for drugs. It's a topic in my chronic pain groups. "How to travel with meds that are legal and/or prescribed to you but may not be legal elsewhere."

For example - if you have Colorado plates - make sure all your Rx are in the original packaging if you drive out of state or you will be going down for that. It's much safer to fly with all meds, strangely enough. You risk losing your car, money and possessions - not to mention going to jail, if you drive the interstates with it.

Its impossible to know yet, because legalization hasnt happened in my state (NY) and chances are we will be one of the last to legalize if we look at past legislation on medical, ect.

I am of a similar opinion. I'm not a smoker, so I'd prefer to have it in edible form as well.

The tricky thing about marijuana is that the same strain may have different effects on different people. So, once it becomes legal (In Canada, the date is July 1, 2018), I will have to try a couple of strains from reputable distributors until I find the one/s that work well with me.

Yeah the way I take it might end up being different as well, I might enjoy vaping or eating it more. I hope you have a good experience when Canada legalizes it.

The idea that something I put in my boy might cause a bad reaction and ultimately me to have a panic attack, scares me.

You should just stay away from it if this is the case. I don't smoke often but when I do and accidentally get too high I legit have a panic attack but it's usually because weed makes me think introspectively and face my darkest fears/thoughts before I'm able to relax.

When I sober up I tend to have much more clarity on what I need to do in life and am left being very grateful for what I have.

I don’t know if it has something else on it (sprinkled with other drugs)

Maybe back in the day but if you're in Colorado or Cali it's very safe to assume there's nothing mixed in.

You could also argue that just because something is legalized doesn't mean it's any healthier, look at all the legalized drugs' side effects you see on commercials side effects may include suicidal thoughts, heart palpitations, etc That's like half the drugs on commericals on CNBC/CNN etc. all much worse than getting high.

good article. i will not be Legalized. it will create more dependency than alcohol

I think you are wrong, ultimately it will be legalized, as for the dependency issue I cant talk to that. Marijuana definitely is less physically dependent than alcohol is.

Actually, Marijuana isn't physically addictive, but in all fairness you did say "dependency," and regular users can become dependent on it. However, I would much rather have a nation of pot-heads over a nation of alcoholics, or heavy alcohol abusers. I did both (heavily) for many years, something I very much regret, and now very rarely consume either, and when I do, it's very little. I know what alcohol did to me, and as far as I know, Marijuana caused no problems, other than a massive consumption of 'Twinkees.'

I remember seeing a comedian years ago. He was talking about Alcohol and Marijuana. He said, "You always hear stories about guys coming home drunk and beating their wives, but with pot you don't have that. The worst thing you get is a guy coming home stoned and forgetting to beat his wife."

Your example is cool and hip.
More people die from alcohol then Marijuana.
I live in the Netherlands. Here The government is experimenting with legal cannabis cultivation.
Why? To manage criminality. I am glad living here.

Thank you. Yes, the Netherlands is a forward thinking country.

Thats fair enough reasoning. Do you good sir

Excellent post, very well articulated. thank you so much.

Thnx @calaber24p for putting this info all together.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66038.71
ETH 3178.89
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.05