You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The Future: An Efficient Justice System Run By Artificial Intelligence

in #life8 years ago

This is very interesting to read, im really surprised as well that judges would make the same amount of mistakes as jurors, possibly because the mistakes are caused by perception bias ( for example perceiving someone as "looking like a rapist" or "looking like a theif") that exists in both judges and juries. I agree with most of the other points you make in regards to today's AI, but AI in the next 100-200 years will be unrecognizable from anything we could imagine. It wouldnt a computer taking orders, it would be more like an incredibly intelligent and efficient life being. I guess only time will tell, and most likely more time than you or I have left on this earth, but just thinking about it makes me wonder about what else can be possibly changed in the future. I appreciate the response and if ever write anything similarly about the justice system or criminal justice, let me know!

Sort:  

I'll do that. I have been lazy in my writing so far lol.

I think that you're right in that juries and judges make the same mistakes due to the same basic biases. As humans, we are more emotional and/or heuristic in our decision-making than we like to believe. Huemer goes into this in detail here:

http://www.owl232.net/irrationality.htm

and one point in Huemer's argument is that people that are more intelligent and educated often make LESS rational decisions than they believe they do. (cue Homer Simpson burning down his own house and singing I AM SO SMART, I AM SO SMART)

The good thing about the future is that we can always work towards making it better for ourselves via technology and self-improvement!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 54349.85
ETH 2284.90
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.32