My BabyGirlsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #life7 years ago

The Story of Cookie

Her name is Oreo Cookie, she goes by Cookie, Daisy the Cow, Dog, Babe, Girly, and probably more that I can't recall at the moment. She turns 13 years old this month but still acts like a baby. I always say she is the best thing that has ever happened to me, she truly is, we saved each other from the horrible sadness of life.

cookie.JPG

In the beginning of 2004 my father died, I was 8 years old and my world was falling apart, he always made me feel safe and appreciated. I love and miss him so much, but things eventually worked out for the better.

0000.jpg

In October of 2004 I was hanging out at my moms work, behind was a small family owned Video Rental place, a teen from the family came up to the store and asked us if we knew anyone wanting a puppy, he had a few he needed to find homes for or his father would kill them.. In my home town in Alaska, the closest animal shelter was over 100 miles away. A bullet was cheaper than driving 100 miles to say the least..

I immediately started begging my mom for a puppy, I needed it, seriously, I really needed it! The dog really needed me too. Money wasn't an issue at this point, or my mum wouldn't let me spend my social security check ruthlessly. I continued to beg and plead until finally she said those sweet words "I'll think about it" , I was content with that answer and left to my friends house for the rest of the evening.

KMG_0421 (2).JPG

My moms truck came roaring around the corner into my friends driveway nearly 8 hours later, she walks in as I am getting my boots on and says "I have a surprise for you" at this point it wasn't a surprise, I knew she got me a puppy. I ran to the truck to find a sleeping angel laying quietly on the seat, barely aware of my presence.

My babe.jpg

This was the beginning of our life together. I was in awe, so delicate, and loving, cuddles, my life would be forever changed. I have never once regretted getting her.

Yes, cleaning up puppy pee & poop was no fun, but it was worth every bit of turd I endured.

roadtrip.jpg

She's gone on many adventures with me, flying back and forth from Alaska to the East Coast atleast 3 times, driving and living in Florida for 6 months, countless hikes, new dog friends, and people we've met along the way all shaping who we've ultimately became. We understand each other, and even communicate with our voices.
Yes, my dog talks to me, literally.

•.,¸¸,:•:¨¨:•:,¸¸,:•:¨¨:•.,¸¸,:•:¨¨:•:¨¨:•:,¸¸,:•:¨¨:•:,¸¸,.•:¨¨*

I know I would never have been able to get a dog when my father was around, to obtain something of equal value must be lost. So quite literally, when one door closes another one opens..

♥I hope you enjoyed this post, an introduction to my baby girl, I have a cat too I will one day formally introduce ♥

Sort:  

Welcome to Steem Community @cainplant! As a gentle reminder, please keep your master password safe. The best practise is to use your private posting key to login to Steemit when posting; and the private active key for wallet related transactions.

In the New Steemians project, we help new members of steem by education and resteeeming their articles. Get your articles resteemed too for maximum exposure. You can learn more about it here: https://steemit.com/introduceyourself/@gaman/new-steemians-project-launch

This is such a wonderful and sad story in the same time. You have a great friend and very cute friend there :)

thanks Ewkaw <3 life is full of sad and wonderfull things all happening at once, our souls reflects what we focus on. <3

Welcome to Steem @cainplant I have upvoted and sent you a tip

So cute! 😄👏🏻Welcome to Steemit! I wish you all the best in this platform and in all your projects! You can count on me for anything you need. I send you a big hug from Argentina! @kryptoland 👍🏻😄🇦🇷

thanks Kryptoland <3 Hugs from New Hampshire! It must be so beautiful in Argentina!

Animals, especially dogs, make life worthwhile.

Something wonderful about a good dog, Cookie is a beauty. Enjoy your times together.

thank you @bleedpoet I know she would enjoy that thought <3 there truly is something wonderful about it.

welcome to the Steemit Community, Cainplant! Wish you much luck! Cheers! Follow me at @khunpoom

Hey there! Welcome to the fastest growing monetized platform for bloggers and writers. You may find it easy to quit and not persist because it is tough here at times.

Nevertheless persistence beats luck.

We have invented the solution to making new steemians known on the frontier and not having to look like you are holding a bag over your head...nobody sees you get the point. Learn more here

Just follow now and for a limited time you get a discount on resteems: @thelifestyler. The link below allows you to get more payout on a post. (Tip #1)
Click here

This is why I come to steemit every day! I saw that you joined couple months back but I thought I'd say hi nevertheless. You get an upvote and full steem ahead!
I know how hard it is to receive upvotes on a new account so you should try out Steemfollower where you can earn up to 5x more steem than just upvoting by yourself! It's a simple and safe vote exchange that is free to use. I have also made this post where I explain the site in more depth and it has become my most upvoted post yet.

thanks for sharing kromosoom!

Amazing story! I have a female bull terrier now and before her, I had a male bull terrier for almost 14 years. 8 Weeks old when I got 'em and he also changed my life... Great memories! Happy Weekend!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 63597.74
ETH 2476.06
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.53