You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: CALLING ALL USA BASED STEEMIANS TO ACT NOW

in #life6 years ago

This is very interesting, personally I only every use my own photos in my posts, or the occasional gif which is normally from a very old film and I tend to feel gifs are ok if you quote the source you found it from at least. If I need quality images I buy them on Shutterstock which seems to be as good as place as any - do you use anything similar to sell your content?

c0ff33commentaimage.png
#thealliance

Sort:  

Thanks. you would still need a license to use a gif unless it is copyright free, It's just a format like jpeg etc. Very old photos and films will be in the Public Domain likely. Copyright in the USA is for life + 70 years!

I've actually been with Getty for many years, but with the advent of the microstock agencies, revenues started to fall, so I diversified. LOL! Yes, I have images with Shutterstock, Adobe and Istock. I also have a few with Dreamstime and Depositphotos. You know you can get some free images at Pixabay and Unspalsh too, right? You have to be careful though, especially with people images, as you have no access to model releases. Occasionally, (surprise! surprise!) there are images on there that have been swiped from elsewhere, and the sites make it clear that it's the end user's responsibility to make sure that they are getting copyright free images.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 60181.17
ETH 2419.82
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44