One Reason You're Not Achieving Goals!

in #life7 years ago

Prepare...why?

Because most of us have things we want to do. We have goals and objectives that we are trying to meet and dreams that we are trying to make a reality.

We daydream and visualize ourselves achieving certain awards, driving a certain car, buying a particular house, having a certain amount of money in the bank, or being a certain weight.

Now we always picture what life could be like but the reality is that most of us don't achieve that life. It's because we don't prepare for it.

pexels-photo-462353.jpeg

Benefits Of Preparation

Preparation is your road map that is going to lead you to everything you want. It's going to show you exactly how to get to your destination or goal.

Preparation also helps you to get off to a good start when working on other projects. It also helps you to understand the action that you need to take to achieve your goals for that project.

The more you prepare to achieve your goals, the more you are able to align your strengths and weaknesses up to complete the task at hand.

Preparation is essential if you want to achieve outstanding results.

Results Of Me Not Preparing

When I started my first LLC, I did so without doing any preparation. Now in a way it was good because it put me into motion with starting the company, but in the long run, not preparing hurt because I didn't have specific goals to continuously aim at. It was more so me just going and going and going.

Since I didn't have any specific goals, eventually, I started to get distracted easily. I would go and create new vague goals for other ideas.

In the long run all this did was spread me thin.

Now don't get me wrong, working on multiple projects can multiply your success, but, you have to have specific goals that will allow you to keep pushing until you meet the criteria of those goals.

S.M.A.R.T. Goals

S.M.A.R.T. Goals are effective in helping you to prepare.

S is for Specific
This is your who, what, when, why, how, where, etc.

M is for Measurable
This is your how much or how many. How is your success measured? What dictates the goal to be accomplished?

A is for Attainable
Is this goal realistic? If so, how will you attain it

R is for Relevant
Is this goal worth it? Do achieve this goal match up with what is trying to be accomplished as a whole?

T is for Timely
What is the target date for this goal to be accomplished

When you think of a new task that needs to be completed, just run it through this filter to determine if it's something that you really need to do or if it's something that's not relevant.

Whatever You Do...Prepare for it

There is a saying that "success is where preparation and opportunity meet."

If you want to be successful...prepare

If you want that house...prepare

If you want that vacation...you guessed it, prepare

Let's say that you dream of being an author and you want to write your first book. Well what is the book going to be about? Will it be fiction or non-fiction? How long will the book be? Will it have illustrations throughout the book? Will it be for children, teens, or adults? When do you plan on completing the book?

It is almost impossible to say that you want to do something and not prepare to get it.

Preparation is one the keys to success whether it be in your business, at work, at school, or in a relationship.

Conclusion

I hope this was helpful in some way.

Being able to write about these things as I implement them in my own life is therapeutic.

I have had so many revelations writing this so I hope you will have even more reading it.

Till next time Steemians...Steem On!!!

Upvote Follow Resteem.gif

Sort:  

I guess that if you see the goal and want to achieve it, then you will do it no matter what will happen!!!

Exactly! There is nothing stopping us from doing anything except ourselves!!

I find having a dead set schedule towards your goal helps a lot. I like the idea of S.M.A.R.T. goals. Thanks for sharing.

Have that dead set schedule creates a system. Once you have your daily system all you have to do is be consistent and success will come! I'm constantly creating, adding, and tweaking my system.

Can you share about your system too. I use to work long hours and sleep less. I started listening to Tim Ferris and their guests and realised it might not be the way. What you think?

I've read Tim Ferris's book and I think it's pretty good. The only thing is that they advocate hiring people which is fine IF you have the cashflow for it.

Now some things I have been doing to create my system is record a lot of data. For example I sell shirts. I timed myself for an hour to see how long it would take me to set up, print, bag the shirts, and clean up. It took me 1 hour to print 20 shirts along with bagging them and cleaning up. While I was doing this I was also writing down my process step by step so that when the day comes to where I'm willing to hire work, I will have a written SOP, standard operating procedure, to pass off. I was doing a lot of things within that 1 hour so it's easy to improve to 30 shirts in an hour.

So I have created 20 shirts in an hour. I'm looking to make minimum $7.5 profit per shirt. If I'm able to sell all of those shirts in a week then that $150 I have made from 1 hour of physical labor. These are the types of systems I am create. It meets all the criteria of S.M.A.R.T. Goals. It's specific, measurable, attainable, relevant, and timely.

Great. SOP is such a great idea. I should start documenting too. Thanks a lot! :)

its simple - all you gotta do is PREPARE. After reading this post this is all i can think of haha

My purpose for this post has been fulfilled lol

Thank you for opening our eyes to what smart really means. I have copied it and will try to apply it and see how successful my goals are going to be.

You can't go wrong if you stick to it! Glad I could help.

Good tips! I think you're right. Most of us fail to get our goals because we fail to prepare ourselves before even beginning the journey. It's just like what they way, the hardest part of any process is to begin.

I know all about failing because of lack of preparation! I learned from my mistakes so now I'm doing more preparing than I ever have!!

If you have a certain goal then you should definitely do everything to achieve it, but preparation is the key to it all! Without it you might have wasted your only shot. It can help you too to get out of difficult situations once you ended up in a difficult spot! :)

That's a harsh reality. Imagine having the perfect shot at a goal but failing because of lack of preparation. I don't want to be that guy!!

You got a 1.61% upvote from @postpromoter courtesy of @byrondallen!

Want to promote your posts too? Check out the Steem Bot Tracker website for more info. If you would like to support the development of @postpromoter and the bot tracker please vote for @yabapmatt for witness!

To hear the speech version of this post click the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvote this reply.

Do the right thing at right time and be wise about what is the right thing and make mistakes to be wise.

This post has received a 20.14 % upvote from @boomerang.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63635.72
ETH 2597.20
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.91