How To Get To The Next Level

in #life6 years ago (edited)

So many of us want to get to the next level but there is one thing that many of us are not willing to do to get there.

I'm a firm believer that if you want to change your life then you have to change your thinking. There is no way that you can think the same way you have been thinking for years and get to the next level.

Scarcity Mindset vs Abundance Mindset

Scarcity Mindset

There is this notion going around that everything is scarce. This ideology has been perpetuated for as long as I can remember. It is one of the main tools that marketers use to sell you something. They feed you BS and tell you that this is the only time you will be able to get this deal or to be able to have something when it couldn't be farther from the truth. When you are in the scarce mindset you leave yourself vulnerable to any and everything. It leads you to making irrational decisions and taking unnecessary risks. Reevaluate your situation and decide whether you are the one playing the game or the one who is getting played.

Abundance Mindset

The abundance mindset is where our minds should be each and every day. The reality of life is that if something runs out or ends, it will always be replenished. Nature itself teaches us that. The way I see it, everything works on a cycle. Anything that goes away always, and I mean always, come back again. It may not look or sound exactly the same as it did before but trust that it's coming back. You can take a look at our four seasons and see this over and over again.

The same way there is an abundance in nature, this is an abundance in opportunity and success. I don't care what the conditions are or how bad the economy is, there is always an opportunity available. There will never be a time in your life where you don't have an opportunity to do something. If you quit or get fired from your job, guess what, there's a million more out there. If your business feels like it has hit a wall, guess what, there is an opportunity to make it grow even more. If your wife has left you, guess what, there is an opportunity to get her back.

Will each opportunity you take turn into success? Of course not. If that happened then everybody would be successful, but if you increase the amount of opportunities you take then your chances for success goes up. In life I see it constantly, the successful people are always on the go while the complainers never take action, they just whine. Remember to model your life after the successful people.

Complainers

I used to be a complainer and as a matter of fact I think we all were at some point. I would blame every undesirable thing that happened at my job on the people or management. You see, every job I have had I always aimed to be the best at it. I always tried to put up the best numbers and in doing so I had expected to be given a higher position. Any time this didn't happen I would blame others. I would say well this person doesn't like me or this person is their favorite or find some other lame excuse.

What it all boiled down to was that I didn't want it enough.

Now how do I know this? Because if I did I would have never quit without achieving my goal. If I had been dead set on accomplishing the goal I set out, nothing or nobody would have stopped me. Look at the people who move up in your job, they did something to get there whether you think they deserved it or not. They got there whether they did it the ethical way or unethical way, please be ethical with your decisions. They took enough opportunities to gain the success they desired.

Next time you find yourself complaining and blaming others, ask yourself, do you really want what you are trying to get? Are you really giving it everything to obtain the objective or did the person who wanted it more just blow you out the water?

For me I had to realize that I didn't want the corporate life bad enough. I have the skills to thrive within it but I just simply didn't want it as bad as the next person.

Successful People

Successful people are like lions! They are the Kings and Queens of the many jungles, remember there are no shortages, and when they walk into the room you know it. They will slay, devour, and hammer any problem or situation that gets in it's way. These people go so hard that when you see them work it makes you feel like you're not doing anything at all. They blow past all of the competition because they do things that nobody else is willing to do. They are not the most intelligent, they are not the most gifted, and they definitely are not the most qualified. What they are though is the most driven.

lion-animal-portrait-africa-safari-40196.jpeg

In life it is hard to obtain this type of thinking because we are filled with mediocracy. We were taught to be average all of our lives. We are taught to accept the norm.

Ask yourself, when was the last time you truly went over and beyond? And when I say over and beyond I mean doing something that you know nobody has done in your space.

Conclusion

I hope I was able to assist you in changing your thinking to get to the next level.

As I always say, Steemit is therapeutic for me because when I write these posts, I am speaking to myself just as much as I'm speaking to others.

Ask yourself one more time, Do you want it enough???

Till next time Steemians...Steem On!!!

Sort:  

if you want something in your life you need to change your mindset. You need to go the extra mile move from your comfortable position. Just start to do something different and sooner or later you will achieve your dreams.

To hear the speech version of this post click the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvote this reply.

Agree @byrondallen. If you want something in your life you have to go and get it. It's like winning the lottery, if you want to win first thing you have to do is buy a ticket to make a chance to win and not sit at home wishing you win the lottery.

Exactly!! And the great part about it is that we can play the lottery everyday without spending any money!! I that you're new so welcome to Steemit!! I just gave you a follow and look forward to seeing many more posts from you!

Thanks. Dito.

Great post. Honestly, I've never thought about the scarcity mindset but it makes perfect sense. We often want more and we chase those materialistic things thinking that they will satisfy the empty space inside. Living with abundance mindset means being grateful for what we have and feel that there is more than enough for everyone. Very inspiring post. Thank you

It's like we're kids that never grow up. The "toys" just get upgraded to cars, tvs, and stuff. We get used to it, stop playing with the toy, and then want a new one. Abundance is where its at!! Thanks for the comment! I just gave you a follow.

Would like to discuss the downside of having a lion mentality too. Having a thriving mindset wins but doesn't it also damage you inside?

Well, I am looking at the stressful side of always wanting to win. To me, sometimes observing and controlling your emotions are more important than trying to win. Anyway that's just my opinion. :)

This! >>>> "Reevaluate your situation and decide whether you are the one playing the game or the one who is getting played."

This is a great post, and that line alone is worth gold. I like to say it as, when you try to take, just make sure you're not the one getting taken. People try to get over on someone else because they doubt their own worth. If they knew what they were capable of, they wouldn't be looking for short cuts and inside tips. They just be doing what needs to be done with confidence that it will eventually pay off for them.

So much I could say on this point. Loved this article!

The funny thing is when you spend that time looking for the shortcuts, you kill way more time looking for the magic potion than working on the activities that will get you where you need to go. How do I know? Because I've done it lol. Thank you for the kind words!!

Some people daydreaming with open eyes while others unlike you barely do it at night. Only if you are crazy enough to believe I can change the world, one day maybe you will really change.

It all starts with the belief first. If you don't believe it then it is then impossible for you. BTW I gave you a follow and I look forward to your posts

Que buen artículo. Refleja la realidad de muchas personas. Muchos nos quejamos probablemente más de la cuenta y quizás por no hacer lo suficiente para alzanzar nuestros objetivos y metas. En lugar de leones quizás, en muchas ocasiones, parecemos gatitos :)

¡Y eso es exactamente lo que debemos evitar! Si realmente queremos alcanzar un objetivo que hemos establecido, ¡entonces debemos convertirnos en ese león! ¡Debemos aprovechar cada oportunidad que tenemos para exigir nuestro éxito!

Bro there is so much truth in all of this!

My biggest goal for this year was to stop wasting my time complaining and just use all of my energy and focus to solving whatever problem comes up!

Exactly...and always remember that this is a marathon. Every time we solve a problem more will always come. I rather have the good problems like owing taxes or too many real comments on Steemit haha

lmao Facts!

Except the real comments are super hard to keep up with, so I'll deem that more medium in difficulty lol

To get to the next level, I think what we must have is consistency with our work. Continue to walk on straight path to your goals and you'll get there. That's how a think it should be.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 57174.31
ETH 3071.24
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.40