No Lucille, You Can Not Cut Ivory with a Knife

in #life6 years ago

7cb1be80-469d-48b6-9d0d-e505214fdf64.jpeg


I am old enough to remember having to rely on snail mail to send letters to my boyfriend. He lived just far enough away that a phone call cost $0.15 a minute, so we couldn't afford to talk often. Still, I saw him at least once or twice a week at church, so it's not like we went long without seeing each other. I still remember looking forward to my letters that I got from him each week. Why, I'm not actually sure, since he was always bemoaning the fact that we needed to be better... well, that's a story for another time.

I'm reading through a few of these letters today and reminded of what it was like to not be able to talk to someone daily. Letters being sent across the country to just talk about the daily life, the mundane, local gossip, etc. Things we see on the regular from people all over the world now days thanks to social media.

This paragraph in particular makes me smile, because it reminds me SO much of my husband. "No, Lucille, you can not cut ivory with a knife. You need to use a hacksaw"

I literally laughed at that. It seriously sounds like something my husband would say when I ask him about any of the MANY projects I've taken on over the years.

This will probably help flavor my freewrite later. :)


Steepshot_footer2.PNG Steepshot IPFS IOS Android Web
Sort:  

This post was spotted by @theluvbug and has received a 100% upvote and a resteem.
If you would like to possibly receive future support from @theluvbug
then please make use of the #theluvbug tag.

Spreading the STEEMIT LOVE with upvotes and resteems of AWESOME Steemit content. Use #theluvbug to get my attention :)

In Proud Collaboration with @steemitbloggers
and their founder @jaynie

interested in joining the Steemit Bloggers Community?

Thank you so much!

❤ My Pleasure @byn

ot58a6067e.gif

Ooohhh do share what beautiful treasures are kept within someday!

I'm sure I'll write about them often, if not an entire novel. It's so fascinating!

Ah this reminded me about how much I miss writing letters. That and how my husband and I went through a similar situation. He was too far away to talk to often so we would write to eachother all the time. I miss that about the older days. Just seems more personal handwriting something to post to someone. That excitement when you find a letter in the post box, man that always felt good.

I still get excited if I get a 'hand written' email from people these days! :) I know what you mean, though. I love having things in writing (however it happens) because I love going back and reading things. I have a folder full of letters from our early years of marriage when my husband would write letters to me instead of the gifts we couldn't afford. They mean more to me than any monetary gift!

howdy Byn! you mean you still have all those old letters from an old boyfriend? wow and your husband is okay with that? amazing. well it could indeed be some interesting story material!

No, not THOSE letters (although they were tediously boring and I kept them for far too long) I mean I was reading through the old letters (from 1944) from the box of antique stuff from my mother in laws house. :) I realize now that I didn't clarify that very well!!! Oops!

oh ok. much better! lol. that's okay..yes the antique stuff and letters are a treasure!

It seriously sounds like something my husband would say when I ask him about any of the MANY projects I've taken on over the years.

No, that's not how you build a website... you need to use a hacksaw!
No, that's now how you paint a picture... you need to use a hacksaw!
No, that's not how you take blood from a patient... you need to use a hacksaw!

Anyway, you have inspired me to look up my old letters that my wife and I used to write to each other... now if only I can remember which continent they are on...

Lol! I hope you find some good ones :)

I built us a raised, built in loft bed once and remember calling my husband to ask if we had a hand saw to cut some of the boards with and he said, "No, honey, use the circular saw" and who knows what else I've taken on. He's in construction and does pretty much every level of remodeling/building, so he pretty much always has the answers to my questions... even when I'm not quite sure what I should be asking!

How romantic we were in the good old days!

I love writing letters in the old days especially during the festive seasons!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 67368.20
ETH 2618.26
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.68