Fishing - Having bad luck and caught a seal, I decided to slaugther it. (Warning! Graphic content)

in #life7 years ago (edited)



Sometimes, but on rare occation, it happens that seal get caught in the trawl.

Unfortuantly the seal usually drown from being caught in the net for to long.


This one time in particular, we emptied the bag, and there was a seal there.

The deckboss said to me, if I wanted, I could try skinning and preserving it.
Because if nobody wanted it, we would have to throw it to the crabs.

But I had to do it on me free time!
We go 6 / 6 so this would mean little sleep, but I said I would try.


After we shot of the trawl again, we moved the seal out to the side.

And as my hands was on the seal, I felt a strange sensation! It felt alive. Even how unanimated it was, with the foam out of the mouth! It had pulse, but very weak and fast.

As the other guys went down to the factory and starting cutting fish, I rolled the seal on the back and started giving chest compressions.

It was foaming even more through the mouth, but it was no fysical response...
The bloodshot eyes did not look like they would see again.
A co-worker asked me if i could come down and help with something, so i had to go. I rolled the seal over on the side, as I have learned in the army, and decided to give it a chance to recover.


After my shift was over I went and checked it, but it was in worse state than earlier. I had been preparing for this, but it felt a bit sad. Because I knew the right thing to do was to end its suffering, and as the blood flowed out of the seal, I sat with it and tried to pay my respect.

I tried to think as an Northern American Indian, and wanted to pay homage by using as lot of the seal as I could:

  • The meat was hung up to mature
  • The outer layer of fat have a high content of marine oils. The difference from fishoil is the high content of DPA, It tasted better than fish-oil, so I froze down several bags.
  • The skin was salted and frozen

14509382_10154338392465395_747633854_n.jpg

I spent a lot of time washing of any excess oil with cloth detergent/bleach


seal.jpg
To Sassy?

folloe.gif

I want to know what you think, please share your opinion!

Sort:  

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by Bymma [INTP-A] from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, and someguy123. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you like what we're doing please upvote this comment so we can continue to build the community account that's supporting all members.

This post has received a 1.79 % upvote from @booster thanks to: @bymma.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 65092.40
ETH 3470.06
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50