You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Vote Buying: an animation

in #life7 years ago

So much noise about trending page.
Remember, trending is just a sorting algorythm. It could be changed. If it not changed then steemit finds current order of things with whales and vote buys suitable or even desirable.

Sort:  

well those are the highest paid posts so it means something for what steemit rewards and values....it's not a sorting mechanism, is a suggestion :)

Hehe that is indeed true!

I don't lend too much credence to the trending page. However I know that other people do particularly newcomers and people who are not members of the site. If they see dross being the highest paid. It can't be good.

I know it can be changed but the current situation is not one I find to be desirable at stated in my post

There is a bit of a sad realization that kicks in, once the knowledge of bots, purchased promotion, et al kicks in. "Dross" is a dead-on description of what I first viewed. In no arrogant way, I honestly thought I could earn some quick income by coming to Steemit. It didn't take much time to see that it's about the long game, and really sinking one's teeth into it, in order to see serious returns. While the hard work part isn't discouraging, the promotion peddlers certainly leave an unpleasant aftertaste. It's part of why I so enjoy the content here, along with a handful of other clever folks. Here's to fighting the good fight!

Well said! It is totally my point. It's what new people see and seem to lend credence too. Buying your way to it hardly seems fair or makes it better than it is

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 67905.30
ETH 2637.44
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.67