You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: What I Learned from Giving Up Alcohol for One Year (Therapy Thursday)

in #life6 years ago

Thank you for writing this! Real and raw and so needing to be told. You said "better late than never" and I hope that you are (as I feel you should be) damn proud of yourself for not giving in and letting the cycle repeat!
Forgiving ourselves when we know all of the deep and dark little thing that we've ever done or thought feels overwhelming. Guilt and regrets stack up and it feels like drowning in a pool with a million hoses flooding in and no way to reach the surface. Easier just to sink than try to float let alone swim to the edge to turn those bastards off. It makes believing people when they say they love you impossible since you can't see what they love.
It is beyond wonderful that you found a way to heal, forgive and make peace with your choices and truly have love for yourself! Huge Hug!

Sort:  

I really REALLY appreciate your support. I was really shocked by how hard this was to write... and then share. I'm all about being an open book, especially if there is something I've been through that might help someone else. But still, this really drained me more than I expected. I truly appreciate all of the supportive comments.

Thank you.

Also, THIS:

It makes believing people when they say they love you impossible since you can't see what they love.

I mean DAMN, you NAILED it.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 61092.62
ETH 2666.59
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.62