C.H.U.D. MuffinssteemCreated with Sketch.

in #life6 years ago (edited)

Dear Brain,

      Thanks for turning a relaxing walk into a fear of imaginary monsters hiding in the storm drain at the end of my street.

Sincerely,
      I was supposed to go home and get some sleep. I didn't and I blame you.

imageedit_19_4190000843.png

ooze divider.png

      I can't help where my mind wanders. It goes wherever it damn well pleases and I'm just along for the ride.

      Shadow and I were meandering through my small neighborhood one night, enjoying the peace and the random collections of Christmas kitsch people have up in their yards. To be fair, I was having fun looking at the colored lights. Shadow was preoccupied with how much pee to release on each section of lawn so that he'd have enough for every other house that we'd pass.

      This meant that we made many stops since all of the houses are close together. As Shadow anointed another yard, my mind attempted math. Even when accounting for the apartment buildings, a population of nearly 17,000 was a lot to cram into an area under 2 miles in radius. Which made me wonder if maybe there were mole people living under the streets. The thought of census mailers being slipped underneath the man-hole covers had me chuckling.

      Then I saw the street grate.

Why couldn't I have thought of the Ninja Turtles?

      My brain chose that moment to remind me of a scene from a movie where a woman, out walking her dog alone at night, gets munched on by mutant monsters hiding below the streets. Yup. That's exactly the thought I needed to be having at 4 in the morning while out walking my dog. Alone. Now, the smart thing to do would have been to immediately head home instead of moving in for a photo and peering down inside.

      I've never claimed to be smart.

      An entire soundtrack of 80's synth music was playing in my mind as I tried to get my cell's camera to focus. Thankfully, nothing slithered out to grab my ankle. I took a couple of photos and then Shadow and I beat feet towards home.

      Of course, by then I was awake. After checking the locks on my doors and windows (again) I figured that I may as well watch C.H.U.D.

      If you haven't partaken of this cheesy bit of horror, the acronym stands for Cannibalistic Humanoid Underground Dweller. There's a second meaning but since that one doesn't have 'cannibalistic' in the name, it's not as memorable. Despite its many flaws: the obvious message (hiding hazardous waste underneath a city full of people is dangerous - who knew?), the bad fight scenes, and (spoiler)the death of a dog, I like the movie.

Image by Jack Lawrence via Flickr

      Christopher Curry plays a police captain who is trying to solve a slew of missing persons cases. There's John Heard as a photographer who wants to help a homeless "undergrounder" who is terrified and claiming that monsters live beneath the city. Daniel Stern, my favorite in this movie, even wrote his own part as A.J. Shepherd. Shep runs a soup kitchen and is worried when his regulars stop showing up. He ventures into the tunnels of N.Y.C. to find that there's something fishy going on and the Nuclear Regulatory Commission is involved. John Goodman even makes an appearance as an officer in the wrong part of the food cycle.

      The behind the scenes story for this cult classic is pretty interesting. Everyone involved in making this low-budget 1984 flick were friends. Shepard Abbot wrote the story, then pulled in Douglas Cheek (to direct) as well as Heard and Stern to act. Stern's wife even makes an appearance. I would love to know how that conversation went. "Hey honey! Want to come into work with me today and be eaten by a sewer mutant?" To advertise the movie's release, they did something that probably wouldn't fly these days. According to Daniel Stern, a bunch of the friends took a stencil and went around New York City spray painting C.H.U.D. (He also has said in an interview that he's written two songs for a C.H.U.D. musical. Can I order a ticket now?)

      My favorite quote: "What, are you kidding? Your man has a camera. Mine has a flamethrower."

ooze divider.png

C.H.U.D. Muffins

      This is really just an egg 'muffins' recipe. I call them C.H.U.D because... I'll try to explain my thought process here. I was hungry and going to make egg muffins to eat while watching C.H.U.D. The movie has a sequel titled Bud the C.H.U.D. (which is really just a crappy zombie horror/comedy with the C.H.U.D. name slapped onto it). Since I was thinking of things that rhyme with C.H.U.D. and Bud, in came the word "stud". And finally, thanks to Shadow coming into the kitchen to beg for some sausage, to which I said, "Back off of my C.H.U.D. Muffins!", that's why you have this long post that could probably have been summed up in five or so paragraphs. Blame my brain. I do.

While prepping, pretend that you're hosting a cooking show. The food will taste better.

Recipe Link

      Has anyone else seen C.H.U.D.? Do you like to have a snack while watching a movie? If so, is it typically the same thing or anything that you happen to have in your kitchen?

With guacamole, mustard, and sriracha - These look like they came from a sewer.

New Project (8).png

ooze divider.png

Squirrel World GIF by @Omra-sky. Thank you!

Sort:  

That was a delightful read, though I'm furious at you for walking at 4 in the morning!!
I hate gore and horror, but it can be funny. If John Goodman is in it, it's bound to be funny. Love him. He's a gem in the Coen Bro. movies. So...I have to find this cult classic which somehow got past me, despite my habit of watching movies into the wee hours--I said watching movies NOT WALKING :))
Please be careful and continue sharing reports on your adventures, both culinary and cinematic.

Thank you so much for being concerned for me! 🤗 I am careful not to repeat the same route or time of night with my walks. There's a few other precautions and I stand by the rule that if something doesn't feel right, I don't go out or I return home immediately. (And now I always have my dog with me.)
I'm really glad that you got a kick out of my ramble! As for the movie, there's a decent amount of blood and dismembered human body parts. John Goodman is only in it for around two or three minutes so if you'd like I'll see if I can just record a clip of his scene for you and that way you won't have to see the rest.

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by brisby from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Thank you!

Forgive me for saying so but the ones with guacamole, mustard, and sriracha do look decidedly dodgy. I think I'll stick to popcorn!

I agree with you, those look disgusting.
They taste pretty good but aren't something I'll be serving to guests, well unless I want them to leave. 😂
Popcorn is always a good choice. Do you like it buttered or with varying flavors?

Oj nie. Yah might feel even worse when and if yah read the Shambler saga. Well, it’ll make yah be tearful instead of being totally fearful of them. Anyways, spooky things always seem to hide in sewer grates in Suburbia but never in Urban lands! Anywho, never seen the movie but knew of the acronym and may have derived some inspiration from them.

Upvot’d and resteem’d.
03CCF6CB-CB36-4CF4-B152-615735E0077A.gif

Ah, jeez! I already feel bad for the C.H.U.D. since they were originally innocent homeless people until the fast acting toxic waste was stashed underground with them. You want me to bawl? 😉 (You know I'm going to read the series.)
As for inspiration, we never know where it will come from and that's one of the many great things about writing, isn't it?
Thank you Felix!

Hi @brisby
As a follower of @haccolong this post has been upvoted by @hoaithu's Curation Trail.
This is free upvote first when you follow @haccolong

How kind, thank you! I hope that you enjoy your day!

Girl...what am I going to do with you! Are you crazy for taking Shadow for a walk at 4:00 A.M., alone?!?! Don't you ever do that again!!! This world is full of crazies and not to mention what could be lurking under those grates. Shivers. I am happy that you made it home OK and I have no idea how could eat something while watching a horror flick. Please stay home at night and stay safe my friend.

Congratulations @brisby! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got more than 2250 replies. Your next target is to reach 2500 replies.

Click here to view your Board of Honor
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

!bookkepping drugwars

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 67095.54
ETH 3462.62
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.71