Some days you have to dive in head first

in #life8 years ago (edited)

 

I am queen procrastinator and addicted to productivity tips but some times there is no escaping the simple fact, that tasks don't just complete themselves.   

Dirty Laundry


In my house with twin toddlers I have a constant stream of laundry. It is very manageable, if I do a washing load each day. If I skip a day or two the washing piles up and I end up spending what feels like an eternity washing, hanging and folding clothes. It can be very disheartening. The trick is to stay on top of it.   



 

My work load is the same. Responding to emails, processing orders, cleaning, finishing custom designs, studio work, designing future collections, managing social media, advertising,  operating my online store, ordering new product and book keeping is relatively achievable,  if I cultivate weekly habits.  Even a few hours a day makes a big impact on my to-do list and profitability.   


These days my life flows around family time, creative endeavours and enjoying all that this beautiful pocket of the world has to inspire. I do not work every single day, but in amongst the flexibility I enjoy, I still have to work consistently.   


That Downward Spiral   


I have been feeling under the weather for the past two weeks. Stuck at home with a miserable cold and sick children. Need I say more. It has not been fun. I closed my shop to focus on wellness and my family. I started to get behind, really behind in lots of little things with my business. That is okay as ultimately health and happiness are my priority. I gave myself the much needed slack and allowed myself down time to get better. But stuff still needs to get done. And when you are not feeling well, everything seems to spiral quickly. 

  
Today was the first day in ages that I have felt better. With the worst of my cold behind me, I sat looking at my messy studio, overflowing inbox, banked up orders and was overwhelmed. 


Usually I would start by sorting my to-do list, prioritizing tasks and focusing on mindfulness. Half of what I do during this process is really just different forms of procrastination.   



Just Do It


 Today I decided that what I really needed to do was attack my to-do list with ferocity. I wanted to try to keep my focus, avoid the temptation to procrastinate and just get stuff done for one full day.   


I split my day up into two halves. Half a day for admin computer work at home and the afternoon in my studio.  

 
During the course of the day I felt the urge to do other things. I embraced the urge, felt the urge and let it wash over me. Then I kept pressing forward. I forced myself to stay on the task at hand, follow it through to completion. Then I picked the next one, and the next one and the next one. No multi-tasking. A single focus directed solely at each individual task.   



It felt great to knock off lots of little jobs. I made sure I did the ones I had been avoiding too. Which in hindsight were not as terrible as my procrastination had made me believe. 


I reminded myself that not every day is like this, but today is.   


I stopped for lunch, sat outside then watched a show with sub-titles (so I was forced to watch and not multi-task).  


 
Then I hit the studio. 

Again I was fine in short bursts but soon restlessness took over, I wanted to check my phone, flit around on the internet and go down a day dream with a new design. 

But I said NO. KEEP WORKING. Just keep focused.

 It is only one day.  




The sun has now set and I have packed up my work. I did not get everything done, but I made an impressive dent. 

The best part is I have renewed hope, I do not feel overwhelmed. I have spent my day doing my figurative 'work laundry' and I am back on top.   


I realised that for all the time management tips and lessons in mindfulness, sometimes you just have to bite the bullet. Planning helps but it does not do the job for you. Somethings can only go away by doing them.

Action is powerful. Action is motivating. 

I can rationalise, live in my mind, analyse and mentally discuss things but action can pull you out of a slump. 

  
The same goes for my bottomless pile of laundry. I could sort through the laundry, reorganize it, even cull some of our clothes but ultimately if I want to wear clean clothes, I have to eventually wash them.   

Until next time, 

Just Do It!

xx Isabella
 

Sort:  

Good job! Thanks for the reminder about the power of action!

Amazing work! Thank you Bridget
Interesting post.

that resonated so much with me! Great post!

For sure I appreciate your post. Well done

I also tend to procrastinate, waiting for the perfect time to start a task. But as you said, we need to take the bull by its horns and just dive into whatever that needs to be done. I am happy to report that I was quite productive last weekend and managed to churn out 5 articles for my blogs. Hurrah and goodbye procrastination. Oh boy I am on a roll and I hope that I can maintain this momentum.

Sometimes you just have to switch off the phone/internet, and tune in to the work that needs doing. I find hiding away from the world for a few hours allows me to fully engage in my creative zone, no distractions. I can't multi-task and paint :D

This post has been linked to from another place on Steem.

About linkback bot
Please upvote if you like the bot and want to support its development.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 57324.42
ETH 3010.01
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.36