A private and real life behind a brand

in #life8 years ago (edited)


In a convoluted world of social media there is a blurry line between my brand and me.  


 

Linking my Steemit blog to my website 


Tonight I decided it was time to pop up the link to my Steemit Blog on my business website. You can see it here. When I joined Steemit a little over a month ago, like most people I already had a developed a social media presence on other platforms. I joined Steemit rather impulsively, and without even thinking about it, I signed up under my brand name Bridget Bunchy.   


Bridget Bunchy is the name of my little design label. The name is an ode to my Mother and Oma, both strong matriarchal figures that learnt to be resourceful out of necessity and taught me to appreciate beautiful textiles, home grown food and things well made. Bunchy was a character in my favourite childhood book, a story about imagination.   



The start of a brand


I started Bridget Bunchy four years ago, as a tiny hand made business, created as a way to fund our camper van adventure traveling around Australia. It has grown a lot since those early days.   


In the process I have learnt a lot about branding. The primary reason people would choose to purchase something handmade, over the plethora of choice these days, is because of the narrative attached to the product. People are looking for something more, a connection, a story, something deeper than the product itself.   



This is why social media is such a powerful tool. It gives brands the ability to tell a story and relate to customers through narrative. Stories resonates with desires creating powerful emotional attachment.


I used to struggle with the notion of selling a brand. I never really liked scripting and crafting things, with the pure intent to drive more sales. As a customer myself, I like authenticity, a level of realness in this world. This is why I prefer to get my fruit and vegetables from a  farmer's markets. There is a tangible connection to the food I choose to eat. 

  



I have a bricks and mortar shop now too, with lovely repeat customers that support what I do. I have got to know many of my regulars over the years.  Not so that I can sell them more, but because they are good, interesting kind people. People that live in my community, people with lives to share and stories to tell me. I love my customers, not just because they are my customers but because they are people.   

I like to think that people love Bridget Bunchy, not just for my products, but for me. The person and life behind the brand.   

After all, the real beauty in life is found in relationships, meaningful connections, not things. 

Interchangeable me

Bridget Bunchy may be my brand name, but it is a brand based on me, my lifestyle, my passion, my interests, my designs and my heart and soul. It is a big part of my life. I guess this is why I instinctly joined Steemit under this name.   



So back to tonight and my website. I started to notice recently, that my Steemit Posts are showing up online under various searches. People have even shared my stories already. I didn't want a disjoint between my Steemit account and my business. I created a page on my website, encouraging people to check out my blog and while they are there, explore Steemit for themselves.  


 
I don't know why I didn't do this from the start. But I have now. I think it is because Steemit felt like a place where I am more Isabella and less Bridget Bunchy. 

I have made international connections here that exisit far outside of my usual business world.  I don't try to sell, craft words with marketting in mind or even think about that side of things. I just write for the love of stories and take photos for the love of art. My Steemit blog is truly the life behind my brand.


   
It might seem strange, that connecting my Steemit Blog to my website was a big step for me, considering they have the same name.   

I have always been the sort of person to wear my heart on my sleeve, but blogging for me can be immensely private. I often write, with no audience in mind. It is just me, tucked up on my lounge under my favourite blanket, writing my thoughts and editting my photographs. But my posts are out there, open to the world, connected to my brand for everyone to see. That is cool and also strange. There is a real person behind my brand, a real family with a real life.  

Some things in my life will always remain sacred and private, and so they should. But I can assure you that I write with heart, soul, honesty and from a place of love.   

Until next time, stay real
 xx Isabella
 
 
   
 

Sort:  

just checked out your site! nice collection!

Aw thanks @doitvoluntarily. It is mostly still my creations, although these days online I try to feature some of the local artists that I stock in my physical shop. My true love is working with wood, leather and dreamy textiles.

Yeah, a very nice collection.

I love hand made jewellery, i used to make some myself years ago, but i guess the habbit worn off )

I love the graphics on this post. Very nicely put together.

I would also say a brand is a promise you fulfil each time. People can trust your brand and the respects it has and how it reflects on them. A Brand is also a statement you make yourself to others.
@steempowerwhale 🐳
🌞 upvoting your lifetime dreams!

Great story. I have a hard time with the building a brand process, like me as a commodity feels alien to an old hippie semi-luddite, but digital reality is part of todays social connectedness and I want to stay up on what the heck is happening outside of my little cocoon in the woods. THank you for the inspiration and authentic voice on the subject. oc

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60925.88
ETH 2688.98
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.46