Petrified Forest National Park

in #life8 years ago

Petrified Forest National Park is in Northeastern Arizona and was upgraded to National Park status in 1962.  Personally I feel like this is another National Park that should be done on a more extended trip.  Some National Parks can somewhat stand on their own as an ultimate destination but this one is a half day site before you go to the next location.  Being there feels like being on some moon orbiting a distant planet in another star system.  It is a very interesting landscape and it doesn't feel like being on Earth.  

When you first enter the park you don't immediately see any petrified trees but the landscapes are other worldly and very vast.  

Once you climb down into the lower levels that is where you get a close look at the scenery.  

This is when you really start feeling like you are on another world!  

Once you get close to the valleys is where you see the petrified trees.  They are very heavy and you can't take any pieces out of the park.  

Here are a couple of pictures of me taking pictures of the petrified trees.  Sometimes I like the secondary photos the best because it makes the place seem more real when there is a person in the shot.  

Notice the mud cracking all over the place.  That was a very interesting aspect to the landscape!  

I went on this trip with my friends Andy and Matt.  Andy had a Cannon 5D Mark III, Matt had a Cannon 5D Mark II, and I was taking secondary shots with a Sony DSC-HX9V.  Matt also had a good LG Smartphone that could take some solid pictures and video as well.  This lineup really served us well on the trip.  

Ultimately Petrified Forest is a great place to visit if you are on a more extensive road trip or if you live in Arizona and want to check it out for the day.  Pictures can't do it justice like most things but with the camera lineup we went in with there were some pretty solid shots.  Also we were there close to sunset which helped with some of the shots as well.  

If you are wondering about my longer hair that is when I grew it out for Locks of Love.  Click here to see the post on that.  

I hope you enjoyed the post and please consider following me @brianphobos


Sort:  

Man... how could you do that? spotted a whale and didn't tell us about it.:-)

At least a wrote post about a whale I first spotted and preparing to write my 2nd sighting.

Hahaha, I didn't even see that whale but now that you mention it I'm glad I found one!

sometimes, you need to take steps back to see something else. :-)

Wow.. your making me want to start travelling again. Awesome.

Awesome! And you can do a lot of trips like this on a budget if you camp and car pool with a bunch of people!

Cool Things About Arizona
Nice Pictures

Your-Welcome
Steem On!
:))

very nice set of photos, thanks for sharing !!

Your welcome! It was a great trip!

Really nice photos! Upvoted!

Thank you I appreciate it!

Looks amazing, Your pictures are great I never knew about this place. Fab review

Thank you! Yeah it is a hidden gym!

Thank you for sharing it with us :)

It looks awesome man!

yeah it was a great experience!

Fascinating, there are so many amazing things to see even just in the States. Those petrified logs are incredible, thanks for sharing!

It was unbelievable how heavy they were. They even felt heavier than regular rocks of similar size.

It looks amazing.

It really was cool and the weather was perfect that day as well.

Looks like it. Fantastic post, thanks for sharing:)

I really like your videos in this post.

Thank you! Fortunately we took some small clips and an insane amount of pictures with all the cameras.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 59035.93
ETH 2519.79
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47