Growing Out My Hair For Locks Of Love

in #life8 years ago

A couple of years ago I grew out my hair for http://www.locksoflove.org/ Locks of Love is a public non-profit organization that provides hairpieces to financially disadvantaged children in the United States and Canada under age 21 suffering from long-term medical hair loss from any diagnosis.

When I started growing my hair out I was just doing it to see what it would look like longer.  I wasn't necessarily thinking about the Locks of Love program.  

Here is a picture of me at Havasu Falls.  My hair got braided because it was funny!  Don't I look cute? LOL

Here was a picture of the back of my hair.  

As my hair got longer I started to let myself go as you can see below.  

Hahahah,  If you are new I gottcha!  If you want to see the funny back story behind this picture take a look at one of my most popular posts.  The Absurdity Of Before and After Transformation Pictures 

I pulled out of my bloated state and did some traveling with my long hair.  This was at Canyon Lands National Park in Utah.  My  hair was a bit greasy from sleeping on a park bench the night before while the coyotes were howling all night.  

In this picture I'm in Canada with one of my favorite T-Shirts on!  

In this next picture I waded out to an iceberg in Iceberg Lake at Glacier National Park in Montana.  YEAH it was a 10 on the shrinkter scale!  It was very painful and your muscles start to lock up.  

You have to have 10 inches of hair to donate and the back and sides of my head started shorted than the top so I had to grow it out extra so it got longer than 12 inches.  There is one thing for sure.  I really respect how much time women who have long hair have to put into their hair.  My long hair would turn into a rat's nest if I didn't just wash it and then brush it.  It would look decent for about 2 hours and then it would become a complete greasy mess.  LOL.  It is hard work!  

At last I cut my hair and got it ready to send for donation.  

Basically you tie it up and put it into a plastic bag and send it to Locks of Love.  They send a certificate back thanking you for your donation!  Even though I didn't set out to donate the hair once I started getting closer to the length I pushed really hard to keep growing it out.  It would get in my eyes when I played basketball and my hats didn't fit but it felt good knowing it went to a good caused and was made into a wig for a child who has cancer or another serious health issue.  

Thank you for viewing my blog and please consider following me @brianphobos

Sort:  

I know the kids appreciate it!

Yeah, Poor kids having to deal with so much at such an early age. It is rough.

True!
I Feel For Them!
Steem On!

What a super cause and you had braids too! Bring back the braids so I can call you @braidsphobos.

I could do the braids or I could do dreadlocks. I had dreadlocks for 1 day in high school and my parents were just shaking their head in disapproval.

Would it be weird if I told you to grow it back cause it just looks hot on you?

That wouldn't be weird. It was a very polarizing thing. Some women were all about it and some women were like NO, NO, NO! It is like facial hair. Very polarizing

My husband has long hair and a beard. My boyfriend is bold and shaved clean. I think it's a personal thing. On you it looks hot. On others it might not.

Also, if you think taking care of your hair is hard, imagine what it would be like if it was damaged from bleaching and pink. That needs re-dying every month and a half. Now THAT is hair that demands attention.

Oh thanks for the complements! That is a good mix for you considering that your husband has long hair and a beard and your boyfriend is bold and clean shaved. I'm going to eventually do a facial hair post about when I grew out my facial hair.

Nice! My wife has donated many times. In fact, she's about to do it again soon. I would do it, but I don't like my hair enough to grow it out. But good job!

Thanks! It is a long process!

Sir, you are generous.

Thank you, It was the least I could do!

Cool! Upvoted and followed!

Thank you! I appreciate it!

GOOD FOR YOU!
I'm actually working on my 5th donated ponytail now. Of course, they're going to have to pull the gray hairs out on their own but that's okay - they sell those to offset their costs.
Glad to meet you @brianphobos! I saw this post on steem.chat :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 59035.93
ETH 2519.79
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47