A poem to my wife when it may be my last Valentines day

in #life6 years ago (edited)

Be my valentine as you have always been
your beauty is as always, the best I have ever seen
If this is the last valentines day for me
Then lets make it no different than any day we see
Because my love for you no matter the time on a clock
never falters or wavers and its as strong as a dock
The cancer will take my body and devour it whole
But no matter what it cant take the love in my heart or soul
We walked hand in hand and chatted about meaningless things
It occupied my brain but inside I was flying on wings
You see my babylooo no matter what we do in life
I now know I was the luckiest guy to have you as my wife
I gave you roses that like me will die
But remember the heart my love is why there is never a good bye
I have asked the boys to continue my work you see
To bring you flowers each Valentines day from me
because most likely next year you will see
I can't bring you flowers next year, so they will have to do it for me
Remind her how much I still love her, and that will forever be
Give her a hug and a kiss on the cheek, she'll know that it's from me.
Tell her it's ok to miss me but I'm ok here
The only thing I miss is our clinking of a beer
There is no pain or sadness in heaven up here
so cheer to the freaking weekend and go have a beer
I wait with our pups at the rainbow bridge to go for a walk
leashes in hand and I wait for our meaningless talk
I promise to hold you and love you into the next life
Because you my Love are the best damn wife
Thank you for standing strong while I fight this fight
I feel so useless and a burden each night
But you do what you do and you hold me so tight
I am ok and when the day comes and I follow the light
Just know that I will be close and not out of sight
So Happy Valentines day and I will with all my might
Continue to do battle and keep up the fight
For we are the ravens deep into the night

I love you More than life. Thanks again for being my wife

Sort:  

a beautiful paean of praise to Lynn straight from the heart. Good work, Brian :)

thanks alot especially from you. A friend of your talents and your honest approach is why I value it so much. Thank you

you're welcome, Brian :)

I feel so useless and a burden each night

I know that feeling well at times. I have a hard time standing and doing the dishes and being able to breath on some days. It sucks, we know it sucks, we know we can not do anything about it. We know our wives still love us nonetheless.

thank you my friend. I hope you a quick recovery too

I had a little bit of lung cancer, it's pretty much gone with half a lung. Breathing is getting easier, but still causes problems at time. Some days i think all of life is a recovery to the next stage of life.

i just saw this, sorry. I agree and hope the next life is pain free my friend

Happy Valentines to you and your Babylooo @lynncoyle1. You two are so sweet. This is another poem that touched my heart.

I have also shared featured this post in my Minnow Fridays Both of you are featured there for the Valentine edition :)

Thank you so mych. You are a good friend

Your words of love for your wife are so beautifully, eloquently expressed. Thank you for sharing your heart here, and helping us all remember what life is truly about. What an amazing legacy you have, Brian. Blessings to you and your beautiful family.

thank you so much. Your words are so thoughtful. and I thank you

You touch my heart, speechless I'am...one thing I wanna say, "Be strong and God's Loves you"..

thank you so much

What a beautiful poem written from the heart and soul. Your souls will be entwined forevermore.

You too get me too emotional. I can’t get teary-eyed when I’m at work! Beautiful poem Brian. Your babylooo Lynn will cherish these poems to her in her heart always. You two take care of each other there!

I am sorry my friend. Life is always good

What a beautiful poem... So much sentimental....

thank you so much

What a beautiful poem...just like you. I too am so lucky to have found you; thank you for being my guy. All my love forever.

I am the lucky one Babyloooo. I love you

You got a 28.57% upvote from @steembloggers courtesy of @briancourteau!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 60787.79
ETH 3242.30
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.46